If You Eat The Seeds Then You Will Die (Story)

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

image

“If you eat the seeds, then you will die,” said my wife.

I can’t believe that. It is a nice fruit. Cotton fruit, easily available in the Philippines, where I am staying.

“How long will I have left if I eat the seed?” I ask.

“Maybe 24 hours,” she replied.

“I’d better make the most of this day.”

“Did you eat one?”

Actually, I wonder if it is nice to save them. Maybe, it will be useful. Maybe, we could use it to plant some more fruit.

“Maybe I should save them,” I said.

“Why?” asked my wife.

“In case I want to kill anyone.”

With that, I decided to do some research on how to plant this cotton fruit. It doesn’t seem complicated. I’ll do it later.

I want some coffee. A strong black filter coffee. Unfortunately, there is none in the house, so I decided to have a look for a coffee shop.

I leave the house and meet many people who say hello. It is that kind of town. Very friendly.

I see a Dunkin’ Donuts. You can buy a filter coffee with a donut. I can’t resist that.

There is one man sitting at another table.

“Hello there, are you going to plant those seeds later.”

“How do you know about that?” I asked.

“What I really want to tell you is that there is no need.”

“Why is that?” I asked.

“Because good fruit comes to good people. I know that you are a good person.”

“Thank you,” I replied. “But tell me, why shouldn’t I plant the seeds?”

“You’ll find out in the next 24 hours,” said the man.

“Will I die if I eat any of them?” I asked.

This question is greeted with laughter.

“Have a nice day,” said the man. He then stands up and leaves the shop.

I decide to have a few more rounds of coffee and donut before making my way home. When I arrive, I find a big box outside the front door. A very big box. Attached is a note which contains a message.

“Enjoy! Don’t eat the seeds!”

image

A freewrite exercise

Day 657: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: seed saving

Sort:  

Haha love this story and Dunkin Donuts is my favorite! Now I want one. I have never heard of cotton fruit. Are the seeds really poisonous?

Posted using Partiko Android

Dunkin Donuts are really cheap here in Philippines. Cotton fruit is nice. As for whether the seeds are really poisonous, maybe. Maybe not. Hehehe.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97