The Death Of Conversation (Freewrite Story)

in #freewrite6 years ago

Prompt: parasol

Set by @mariannewest

Link
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-202-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-parasol

Once upon a time, in a beautiful beer garden, four young friends decided to enjoy the afternoon with some beer.

boats-445080_1920.jpg

A great idea. However, all of them were engrossed with their phones. Pictures of them, pictures of there, inspiring memes and much more. There was no need for anyone to open their mouth and talk.

There was even a conveniently placed parasol to shade their phones. It was marvellous, or so they thought.

autumn-2842347_1920.jpg

I couldn't help thinking that it would be nice if they engaged in conversation. Couldn't they put their phones away and concentrate on the here and now. The thing in front of their nose.

I know this is wisdom, because I'm sure this is what Yoda would say.

They finished their drink and went home.

I'd love to say that this is an exaggerated work of fiction. Sadly, it is not.

beer-garden-1682631_1920.jpg

Reflections on this story.

It is based on things I saw far too often when I was living in the South West of England in 2014. It is such a beautiful part of the world.

It is nice to sit outside with a beer and have a conversation. So many times, I saw groups of people sat around the table engrossed in their phones; not taking in nature and what life has to offer. It is sad.

I won't get mobile data. I'll use my phone now only when I am home.

I now live in Dubai. I went back to visit England last summer. I caught up with friends over a beer. Beautiful conversation.

freewrite-mr-neil.jpg

Thank you @ameliabartlett for the freewrite banner.

All images copyright free from Pixabay.

Sort:  

I have seen that too!! And yes to conversations!!!

.....and a few laughs too 😀

We're so lucky to be surrounded by beauty in this world and it's a shame to see so many more attentive to the piece of plastic and circuitry in their hands. Glad that you were able to visit and catch up with your friends!

Totally, not just the beauty of their surroundings but the company of good people, hidden. It was nice to go back.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85