The Empire Strikes Back Pain (Freewrite Story)

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Prompt: back pain

Provided by @mariannewest

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-203-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-back-pain

stormtrooper-2296199_1920.jpg

“Too many movies,” said the doctor. “You've been watching too many movies. That is why you have back pain. You need to go for walks and take some ibuprofen.”

“Ok,” I replied. “Let my clarify this. I've been taking painkillers and resting, like you said, to help with the shingles.”

“That is right, but now you have been resting too much.”

“But I still have the shingles.”

“That is correct,” said the doctor. “But it is not so bad as before. Now you can stop taking those painkillers and take the ibuprofen, which is another type of painkiller.”

“But the shingles is making me tired and it is still very painful,” I replied.

“You need to get some exercise,” said the doctor.

This was a long time ago with some galaxy not so far away. I like chocolate.

I didn't even drink for months. When I analyse what the doctor said to me that day, I think he was saying,“You're ill. You work it out.”

In that case, I may as well watch more movies, 5 day cricket test matches, snooker, TV series, politics, etc, etc, until I am better.

I eventually got better. I did go walking and now I love doing so.

My back still hurt when I was starting to get stressed. But the good thing is I know when I'm stressed early on, so I can stop it.

I think more positive. The Force is with me and I'm healthy. Oh yeah.

What I realised is that health is more important than worrying about needless things.

freewrite-mr-neil.jpg

Thank you @ameliabartlett for the freewrite banner.

Sort:  

Nice! I'm glad you started feeling better, and you started walking! Thinking positively will help you to feel so much better!

It was a long time ago, but a long term illness changes does change your outlook. ☺ Thankfully, it eventually went.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mr-neil from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97