The Man With The Cricket Bat (Freewrite Story)

in #freewrite6 years ago

Prompt: dirty feet

5 Minute Freewrite Task

I could write a story about dirty feet, but there's not much of that here. I live in an Islamic country and many will wash their feet before prayer.

It is also popular for men to wear a light cotton vest in extremely hot weather. This is to help pull in the sweat in the right places. You can find them in every supermarket.

Cricket is the main sport. Most of the residents are working men from Pakistan. For many, street cricket is very popular. Especially on Fridays. There are games everywhere.

It makes sense to use a man holding a cricket bat on the front of vest packaging. Right?

image

“I'm sorry, we can't buy these off you,” said the general manager of the hypermarket.

“Why not?” asked the salesman.

“Because of the guy at the front.”

“It seems ok to me,” said the salesman. “You have a man with a cricket bat. Men here love cricket.”

“Sorry, but this guy does not look like he's about to play cricket.”

“Seriously?” remarked the salesman.

“Look at him. He's got a menacing grin and he has the bat over his shoulder. He looks a bit psycho to me.”

“I don't believe that,” said the salesman. “He's a happy man carrying a cricket bat.”

“No, he's not,” said the manager of the store. “He's about to whack somebody with his bat. We're not buying these.”

“Excuse me,” said the salesman.

The salesman takes out his mobile phone and begins to ring.

“The manager of the hypermarket thinks that the man on the front of our packets is a psycho.”

“I don't know why you are ringing,” said the manager of the store. “The answer is no.”

“My associate is just outside,” said the salesman. “He will be here in two minutes. Maybe you can tell him about your concerns.”

“There's no need, I'm not going to change my mind.”

“I know that,” replied the salesman. “My associate is the model on the front of the packaging.”

freewrite-mr-neil.jpg

5 Minute Freewrite task conceived by @mariannewest and @improv

Banner created by @ameliabartlett.

I always use either copyright free images from Pixabay or my own.


@sherylneil, my wife, has become Qurator’s 10th Shining Qurite. How great is that?


Sort:  

I think everyone looks a bit psycho :D Ha, nice work.

And in case you want to write some more, here's the latest prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-327-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-describe-a-clock

Hello @mr-neil, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62