I’m Spent And Tired...Let Me Tell You Why

in #freewrite6 years ago

Today’s freewrite topic from @mariannewest’s list of topics hit home for me for real.

You know how they say that it is always darkest before the dawn? Well, that is SO true in my life right now.

My amazing husband is two months away from graduating with his Ph.D. in Computer Engineering. He has been working on a dissertation topic for months. He came in a few days ago and was like, “My topic has been changed, and I have to redo everything on my presentation and in my dissertation in the next two weeks. You will need to stop all the things you are doing at night and on the weekends and help me only.” 

Now, I have been helping a ton since he started this journey back in 2014. It had gotten to the point where he could do his own work without me sitting and watching him. I had finally gone back to my business work and my arts and crafts that I enjoyed doing in my spare time. Why am I supposed to stop what I love to do work on something I do not understand?

Friday night through Saturday morning, I sat upstairs at his laptop, trying to read, when my mind was tired from work. He did a little work - telling me what he wanted me to type. Today we will start again when he returns from his haircut appointment. 

I know that as his wife I am supposed to be his helpmeet and I have to sacrifice for the greater good of the family, but I am spent and tired. I’ve given up so much of myself and I want some real rest. 

But I must remember that this is the last stretch and it is always darkest before the dawn. So I will keep pushing to help him until he crosses the stage on 10 August 2018 and gets his Ph.D.


(went over by 3.5 minutes because I had to stop and fix the husband a meal....)

Sort:  

Oh, they changed his topic so late in the game? That is awful!! I hope you get some rest and feel better about the whole thing!

I love seeing caterpillars in my yard!! No, not the huge machines - my little dudes like to watch those 😉 Hope you are having some writing fun today and I am so happy that you are part of the Freewriters!!!

Remember to drop your link to your favorite freewrite of a fellow freewriter at the Freewrite House on Tuesday!! Or any day…

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-234-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-caterpillar

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thanks @mariannewest! I know that our days will be packed out with fixing and proofreading until he defends his dissertation.
Yes, I am having fun with the freewriting - makes you think quickly and practice those fast typing skills. I will check out the freewritehouse and get that link dropped. Thanks so much!

Hang in tight!

These last couple of weeks will turn out into a living stress, but that is what you do as a family. You take those hurdles together and fight.. Much strength wished though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97