A new car: A freewritesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite5 years ago

Longing. That's what this last month has been about. I've been hit by different illnesses to the point where I'm behind in absolutely everything. There's so much I want to write and I've been unable to do so, or at least get out of my own way long enough to write and share here with this amazing community of writers and readers.

I'm still only treading water, but I tonight I decided I could manage a five minute freewrite. It's been a long time since I've done one and they can be so quick to do I can't use everything else I have to do as an excuse not to do it. Wow that was a mouthful. I hope you know what I mean.

Enough rambling! Here is a semi-autobiographical freewrite about a minivan. It satisfied my longing to write just enough that tears came to my eyes. Was it the subject or the simple act of creation? I'll never tell.

minivan.png

I looked at the minivan with deep disdain. What had I become? The last fifteen years of my life suddenly felt like a wave of regret, drowning me. I hadn’t breathed all those years.

“Have you got it all?” the friendly salesperson named Justin asked.

“Yeah, I think so,” I said.

“Do you want to take a picture to remember it?”

I snapped my head towards him and gave him my evil eyes. “Why would I want to do that?”

“Sorry, it’s just you looked so sad just now. And lots of people take pictures when they trade in their old family vehicle,” he said, cowering just a little.

“No. I’m happy to be rid of it,” I said trying to smile so he’d forgive my shortness.

“Great, I can understand that too. I’d love a new SUV myself! It’s ready for you. Just over here, let me walk you over and show you around.”

I always hated this part of buying a new car. Where the salesman goes over every knob like you’re a two-year-old who’s never seen the inside of a car. But this time, I didn’t mind. This time, it was one more step on my way to freedom. To breathing the fresh air after emerging from dark deep waters.

Minutes later I was free of tedious instructions and driving off the lot. Air whipped past my face and my hair twirled around in a tribal dance with the wide-open windows and moonroof. Me. Finally I was back to feeling like me.

Pulling into the driveway, I was greeted by my kids and my curious parents looking to evaluate my choice of vehicle.

I got out, a wide smile frozen on my face. After a round of hugs, the happiness inside bubbled up even more as I watched my kids ooh and ah at the new SUV, its buttons, comfy seats, and seemingly every nook and cranny.

It was just a car, but it was a new one, for a new life.

Freewritehouse


beta reg banner.png


enter image description here

Join the Freewrite fun today! Visit @Freewritehouse


Proud to be part of the


enter image description here

Please the Bananafish god by entering the Finish the Story Contest

SUV image modified from Pixabay
All images are mine or licensed from Adobe except where noted. Freewritehouse, and the Bananafish Tribe used with permission from their owners

Sort:  



This post has been manually selected, curated and upvoted by CI mod staff team. Supporting all posts that are in high quality and don’t get enough recognition.



This post was submitted for curation by: @theironfelix
This post was voted: 100%

The new car - the new life. So short but such a long story. I am glad that you are feeling a little bit better!!

New car, new life….I might have to give that one a try.
It’s the Wednesday prompt delivery technicians here with the words of the day: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-502-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-let-s-eat

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Hi, @ntowl!

You just got a 0.81% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63418.73
ETH 3094.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89