The Visitor: Day 206 Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

mother freewrite.jpg

These visits always unnerved me. The clean white walls curved slightly ahead so I could never see more than a few feet in front of me. Once they'd told me that the blue light that ran in lines along the wall was intended to be calming for us. I thought it felt icy and disconnected.

But this time the hue was different. I walked alongside Aerna taking long quick strides so I could keep up. She was going faster than usual, and I couldn't tell if the darker shade of light made the difference or if she was just excited to show me something new.

That's all they'd told me this time: I would see something no one had seen before. I was to be the first visitor welcomed into the sanctuary. None of us understood what that meant, but my boss was thrilled one of his team had been chosen for such an honor.

Was it an honor? Despite all our interactions, I don't know that we really know anything about these beings. But I was about to find out more, and that was all anyone at the Centre cared about.

The blue hue continued to change the farther we walked until it became a dark royal blue. I could still see, but I felt like I was in twilight.

Aerna stopped and smiled at me with her thin lips and bulbous head. I felt her warm press on my mind, helping me calm my thoughts.

Now we meet mother, she conveyed to me. The large circular door opened before I could process what she'd said. A blast of warm, wet air hit me and then saw it. Mother.


I took the mother's day freewrite to a whole different place! You can see the prompt in this post:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-206-5-minute-freewrite-sunday-prompt-mother

Sort:  

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

I love where you took it. Nicely done. Been seeing a lot of free write prompts, should check it out one of these days.

Thanks @kchitrah! Yes you should check it out. They are so quick to do. Actually, it takes me longer to find a picture for it than it is to write it!

Thank you for reading and I'm glad to see you "around". ; ]

Congratulations @ntowl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Mother.
In that one word lies the reason, the purpose, the direction of the journey. It is the start of all things. Its push begins the trek through life till its very end.

I enjoyed your story and the ending too. Nicely written.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83