You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Vacation On the Exotic Shores of a Blackhole - Part 1

in #freewrite6 years ago

Not much I can add that the others did not say and I agree with them, loved the movie part I did not expect that.

I do want to know though, what were the choices extrapolate beat out? I am pretty sure you weighed it against calculate, determine or just plain get.

Onwards to part 2, because part 10 is out today and I shall be reading it.

Sort:  

Extrapolate is used in statistical and machine learning models. When he says it, what he's asking for is for her to run models. When she says it, it's one of her models determining that she should use that word. :P

For her character, I try to use the words that match what I imagine her voice to be like in my head. When I write his voice to her, when he's asking for something, I try to imagine what he would say to get a certain type of behavior out. How he says things determines her response. When he says extrapolate, he's intentionally trying to get her to run advanced models. If he only wanted basic statistics, he might use determine. So, it's him trying to alter his behavior to her, so she does what he wants.

This makes sense if seen as orders to a bot, leaving less room for interpreting making her understand the task more clearly.

sudo make me a sandwhich
XKCD Sandwich

I don't think make supports that command.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62423.89
ETH 3202.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81