You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 210: 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt: tree

in #freewrite6 years ago

I love this freewrite @carolkean. The analogy of the ailing tree which you use has a deep subtext which bleeds through the narrative throughout and the honesty and rawness of the writing is just awesome. Love it :-)

Sort:  

Thank you, Raj!! Just when I had quit writing for a while, in part because my own mother won't read my fiction, your kind words came just when I needed 'em most. "Rawness" in my writing? Well, this may be new! Or you're just the first one to mention it. Someone "raw" and "writing" sound good together - not undercooked or half-baked. This is the beauty of 5 Minute Freewrites. If I had set out to write a 2,000 word story for a contest, I'd have trotted out some back story and more details than anyone wants. Maybe more "as it happens" would be good (a knock on the door, the niece, the stranger, the baby), but there's swift exposition and a fast-paced story, versus setting the stage and showing not telling -- but showing can take longer! Ok, I've said enough. Thanks again, you made my day, Raj!

Never let family get you down like that Carol. My grandfather used to be extremely dismissive of my writing so I know how it feels. It would be a real shame and waste of talent if you were to stop writing entirely! Also, I wanted to clarify, when I said raw, I meant like good sashimi. What I meant is that it flowed naturally, in a way that I found really engaging. This happens sometimes with me also on the freewrites, I produce something with a great pace and flow which is really good. I value the freewrites massively for this reason, I think I have a tendency to be too self critical and we're trained through the workshop process to expect the editing process to always be the best process. But now and again, just by letting the mind loose, I think excellent work is produced. That is how I feel about this story carol. Really great stuff :-)

I love you Raj!! My daughters and husband say this story is "disjointed" and hard to follow and meanders all over. I do take "rawness" and honesty as a compliment :) - I'm just so used to hearing "half-baked," I had to laugh. Your freewriting captures the flow and pace you speak of - which tells me I need to keep at the daily freewriting! Thanks again. Your grandfather has missed out on some great stories.

Lol . . . Yet one more thing in common.

Marek will read my haikus, but doesn't bother reading the narrative that follows. Ouch.

Congrats on the Curie. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63173.85
ETH 3147.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87