Sort:  

I have no idea what Carl may have known - twice, he crashed into a bridge and totaled a car. The second time, only two weeks after the first time, he was killed, but his front-seat passenger lived (injured, but alive to this day). As for the perp, there's no evidence--just hearsay. So, short of exhuming the body and finding a DNA match, there is no hope of closure here. Thanks for reading and commenting. :)
P.S. I should know what U&R is....

I’m not a psychic but was Carl looked at closely.

U & R means upvoted and resteemed.

Ahh, U&R - thank you!
Not Carl, but another classmate of theirs actually was a bartender at the place where my sister worked, but was it before she was killed? No records exist that I know of, before computers. Another classmate of Julie's, this one a woman, married a guy who also bartended at the place. The list of locals who might "know something" is endless. The perp is said to be a guy from Vegas who became a cop in the town where my sister was killed, and to this day, all the local LE are said to be either covering for the guy or duped by him ("no way could he be the killer! he's good people; he's such a great guy!"). I am confident that Carl never laid a hand on Julie and never would have harmed her. Then again, the one thing in this world I do know is that I know nothing. Nothing surprises me or shocks me, after a while. That said, I really would be surprised if our beloved Marianne turned out to be a Nazi prison guard back in the day, one who's aged really well. :) I'm at the stage where I'm saddened and disappointed, but no longer shocked by much of anything. Weary, emptied, drained of hope, but ... yeah. (Broken record.) The past few days have pressed down on me but I keep pressing back. Seeing my dad recently in his old haunts, and hearing from some journalist out of the blue, suggesting we "compare notes" on what he has from people... here's what would really shock me: if he uncovered the truth about what happened. Ha! I have not lost the capacity to be surprised. :)

Julie was such a pretty young girl. She may have rejected someone and it got out of hand. It would be difficult to know what really happened.
I thought Carl was acting strange as he seemed to be on a destructive path later with the car accidents.

Thanks - she did reject a creepy old tavern owner who had half a dozen mistresses already and kept trying for more, with offers of cash, a rent-free apartment, and all, but none of the guys who liked her were career criminals, least of all Carl (R.I.P.), but I appreciate your thoughts on the mystery. Julie's murder was well staged, with accomplices, and someone who knew how to remove evidence (no stained clothing, not even her jewelry anywhere to be found). The lone witness reported a scuffle in the coat room at work and more than one man driving her body to the culvert. Less than a year after Julie was found dead, a college student was killed in the same town, a journalism major, who was working on a story about a guy she'd help get imprisoned. Drug trafficking, sex crimes, the usual motives in TV shows and whodunnits. And perps who knew how to keep witnesses quiet.

I would be looking for answers too, Carol. All this brings back all the heartache of when it first happened. Blessings! 💕

Thanks. Only minutes ago, the journalist was asking me for the coroner's name (the guy has to be dead by now) and permission to exhume the body (if LE will agree to it) and what county etc to contact, hoo boy. All these years later. It's like yesterday once more. Thanks again for your understanding!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67320.55
ETH 3709.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78