5-minute freewrite Day 690 prompt: screeching tires

in #freewrite5 years ago

freewrite graphic.jpg

I don't like the sound of screeching tires, because it usually means there is going to be either an accident or a very scary near-miss. Of course, there can be bad car accidents with no screeching tires, because it was too late to slam on the brakes. When I was 18 years old I was crossing a street with two flashing yellow lights and crosswalks, but I still got hit by a car because the driver was trying to figure out where to turn and wasn't paying attention. There was no screech of brakes unless it was after he hit me, in which case I didn't hear it because I lost consciousness for a brief time. There was a paramedic passing by who came right over to stay with me 'til the ambulance came. I had big bruises on my hips, and a whiplash, and I fell on my face so lost my front teeth. I had to have a temporary partial plate, and then a 4-piece bridge. The oral surgeon knew it would only last a few years, but felt it was the best thing to do at the time. Sure enough, I had to get a 6-piece bridge a few years later. I hope it lasts until I die, because I'd probably have to get partial dentures, which are undoubtedly expensive, and I hate dental work. I should have invested the settlement money in a savings account at the very least, but I think I used it to buy my first car, or perhaps to pay off debt. I don't remember for sure.

Sort:  

What a terrible experience at such a young age. You were lucky that you were not killed.

Resident cat here, happy that you are alive and well. Here is today's new prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-692-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-poverty

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite.

The sad thing is accidents happen. No one can pay full attention during the whole time he/she is driving. The mind does not work like that. Also not because driving becomes just like bicycling and walking something we do automatically.

If you walk you also do not pay full attention. You are not aware what is happening around you and if you notice something your mind is distracted.

I am sorry to hear about your teeth. A very painful experience and something you have to deal with for the rest of your life.

I wonder about your whiplash. It is something you never heard about years ago.

I wish you a good health 👍💕

Posted using Partiko Android

I always hate the sound of screeching tires ... rarely do they indicate anything good ... but they DO provide a warning ... sorry you were injured, glad you lived to tell about it...

Me, too! Thanks for reading my little tale.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85