Weekend Freewrite -2/1/2020

in #freewrite4 years ago

pizap.com15807237523341.jpg


Capture333.JPG


This is my entry to the weekend freewrite. Weekend Freewrite -2/1/2020 - Part 1 - The First Sentence. For these weekend freewrites, @mariannewest gives us three prompts and we write for five minutes each prompt. After you finish writing each of the prompts, you will have a complete story.

This one was fun to write. I didn't know what to expect from the prompts after the first sentence, but somehow I made it work. I hope you like it!


Capture333.JPG


She was looking, first to the right, then to the left - just like her forefathers had taught her. She could not see an end to the buffalo that rushed forth across her path. The white men were not far behind and there was no telling what they would do to her should she be caught by them.

Her horse, Alabaster looked at her for direction. She sensed her owner's panic. Alabaster's eyes widened when she kicked her sides and commanded her to take off running beside the buffalo.

Morning Glory took her chances and led Alabaster through the herd one line at a time. She crossed in between the buffalo and using precise movements she and Alabaster made it safely to the other side.

She didn't stop to see if the white men had followed her. She assumed they would be crazy to do so; in fact she thought she was crazy too. But, she was safe now west of the lightning rock and in her own territory.

What was she thinking going to the white man's land alone? As she slowed Alabaster to a halt the bag slapping her leg reminded her why she made the journey.


Capture333.JPG


The scratching noises became louder and louder and it sounded like wood was splintering. Morning Glory allowed Alabaster to rest under the tree branches and she went over to the tree to investigate.

She could see a weak spot in the tree where it looked as if something was trying to get out. Before thinking, Morning Glory poked at the hole with a stick and out popped a very small and very angry little white man.

"How dare you help me at the last second. I dug that hole all on my own. I didn't need your help. Why don't you mind your own business? What are you, some sort of overgrown human? A giant you... must be a giant. Well don't just stand there staring giant, help me down to the ground!"

Morning Glory wasn't sure what to do or say, but she helped the little man down from the tree and placed him on the ground. "I'm not a giant." she said. "You are just very small."

"I am not small. I'm over six feet tall!"


Capture333.JPG


Morning Glory noticed blood dripping from the little man's head. "Oh my. I know I should be minding my own business, but your head seems to be dripping blood."

The little man dabbed his head with his tiny handkerchief and he agreed, "Yes, my head is bleeding. I need something to wrap my head. What do you have in the bag?"

Morning Glory's eyes widened. "Nothing, there's nothing in my bag. I have to be going now."

"So, you're just going to leave me here bleeding? Wonderful! Tell your family I said how ya doing... from the grave cause I'll bleed to death here all alone. I mean come on lady you just busted me out of a tree for Pete's sake."

"You're right. I have a special tonic made only in the white man's camp. My father is sick and I stole it for him. But I imagine it wouldn't hurt you."

Morning Glory took out the tonic and place a drop on his head. Instantly the little man began to grow. After a few seconds there was a full grown man standing before her.

"That's the tonic I needed to break the spell. 'A drop of kindness from a stranger' is what the witch said when she bound me in that tree. My uncle makes those tonics. I can get you all you need."

The End


Capture333.JPG


2FFvzA2zeqoVLrYE9s797ZjtvFQpjr1rFgojSjFXUf1MWRHcx4a5YZGQyaZxr1VJb6f8VSVoUo8ctjBbMcR9epU46Q58soPtDoviPo1D2PGXbcQit9BSboGZVEQ3o.gif

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

Imgur

Imgur

Sort:  

Very good story. We need The magic Tonic😄

Thanks and yes we do!

Awww, love happy endings :)

@alliedforces curate

You got some love from a member of @thealliance family!
Keep up the great work and join us in The Castle sometime!
The #spreadlovenotwar curation campaign is under the guidance of witnesses @enginewitty and @untersatz.
Current VP: 87.06%

:) Thanks for reading!

Hi simgirl,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

The execution seems very interesting and I also think you did it!
I quite liked the second and third stories.
I really loved the second story but the magic tonic was a lunge of sweetness very well located at the end. A cordial greeting @simgirl

what an unexpected twist. pay to be kind. beautiful story :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63236.79
ETH 3280.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85