5 Minute Free Write Challenge - Topic: SleepsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite7 years ago

Sleep and I have never really gotten along very well. Wait...that’s not right. It’s the conventional bedtime hours that have failed me. I am what is known as a night owl. It makes no difference what my schedule is or how tired I am, I just can’t fall asleep “early”. If it is before 2 am, it is early. I routinely watch the sun come up before heading off to bed.

I’m convinced it is a biological condition, as my mother and my children are the same way. Luckily, I am retired and can do as I please. All the critters on the farm are conditioned to my schedule. Breakfast at noon and don’t bother asking before.

I was fortunate in that I was able to work 2nd and 3rd shifts my entire life. My employers found out almost immediately that they didn’t want me on first shift, haha. Can we say, I am not a morning person, lol.

I was never happier as when I gave up fighting with my internal clock and just let “nature” run its course.

Sort:  

Great post! I am the same way. I do not have a sleep schedule. One week I sleep at night, the next I'll sleep till noon. But I love my naps! Thanks for sharing.

I love just going with the flow.

Being retired is the best thing ever! If I only feel like sleeping 4 hours at night, I can then enjoy an afternoon nap if I want one!

Naps are the best!

I had no idea! Hard to believe I've missed out all these years!

I am the other way around. I am a lark or morning person, often awake before four am! I can't turn off the darned internal clock even when I want to. This can be a hinderance at times...

I really ought to do some research on this. I've been this way since I can remember and my kiddos were like that from birth. I bet you were too. Now I'm curious.

I think it is something you inherit from family...

If we can go with our biological clock - things are so much better!! Here is today's: https://busy.org/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-12-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-some-change

Whoa - nice job training the farm animals to adapt to your schedule. I didn't think that could be done. Definitely overturns a lot of stereotypes.

Haha, they didn't have much of a choice in the matter. Adapt or perish as they say. Today, we're all happy and healthy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61