SPICES: Freewrite Day 125

in #freewrite6 years ago

This is the end. No one ever comes back from this. He was whispering to me, his voice trembling badly. I still stared ahead, feeling dazed. I opened my mouth to speak but no words came out. I turned to see the guy whispering into my ears, his mouth wasn’t moving but I could still hear him talk. He had a strange reddish complexion with an odd looking green cap perched over his head

Where was I? What was I doing here? I really had no idea. I looked down at my handcuffed brown hands, perplexed. How did I get to be this shade of brown?

A loud voice boomed from behind us, ordering us to keep the line moving. A few meters away was a greyhound with the word SPICES boldly written on it. We were all forced on the bus.

“Believe me, we are all going to die”, Reddish man with weird cap was saying, quite frantic.

Inside, the bus were seats with headrests which were labelled strangely, PEPPER, GINGER, ONION, TOMATO, GARLIC and the likes. Spices, like the sign on the bus read. We were all led, one by one, to designated seats.
I saw reddish man taken to the seat labeled TOMATO. I was still trying to make sense of it all, when I was suddenly forced into a seat. CINNAMON was written on it.

The engine roared to life but the bus would never take off. Suddenly, we were engulfed in smoke and a bad burning smell. I could hear someone screaming and banging on the door as we all struggled to get out.

“For goodness sake! What’s happening here?”

The voice of my wife amidst bouts of coughing woke me up. I had dozed off in the kitchen effectively ruining our dinner.


P.S: A lot of typos and spent extra time rounding off the story. Also, thanks @nobyeni as your short story - The Dike, inspired my choice of characters.

Sort:  

Hi @uc-phoenix, glad to see my story 'The Dike' inspired you to get your own pen out and write a story!

Did you know that at @thewritersblock there is the possibility to let editors look over your story to help you - also for instance to help with making the first-person POV even stronger, and to avoid dialogue tags for instance. See you there, hopefully!

Thanks a lot. Glad you found time to drop a comment. Luckily, I'm already on @thewritersblock discord channel. Just finding it a little difficult to join the convo and blend in. I hope to drop by soon. Thank you.

Lolx. this made me crack up in laughter. Please put a picture to this story to get more upvotes or attention.

Thank you so much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66416.78
ETH 3082.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68