You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mother Kitchen | Monday #FreeWrite Prompt

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

With us the kitchen also was public room and visitors came too through the kitchen door. It was were life was no tiptoeing.

With us too boys and girls had the same tasks not only if it comes to cooking but also house chores, knitting, etc.

At my granny's it was the same, but she only let you watch or hand over things. It had all to be done very precisely and clean.

I started cooking with 7 also collecting recipes, still have them.

Still smell and taste the old recipes too. They are no there any longer. No one can cook the way my great uncle did.

Sorry to hear your mother has to leave her kitchen but I too believe she will walk into some kitchens with salt and advice. People like her are gold.

💕

P.s. Arara is gold 😍

Sort:  

Thank you so much for your beautiful comment. It's good to know people with similar backgrounds and experiences.
Our elders' generation was unique. In my case, I doubt my generation will honor their legacy.
For one thing, they were the center and balance of the family. They knew how to keep everyone in check. Today I breathe conflicts and disunion around family members and they don't seem to care. With the crisis it has been hard to keep family traditions alive and that has contributed to family dismemberment.
It will take another generation to recover our past customs and traditions.

My granny always been the head of the family. They all listened to her. As she passed away the whole family broke up. Fights, envy, divorces and emigrated to different parts of the world. No bond, no responsibilities for each other.
I try to teach it to my children. To keep them close and tell them they only have each other. I hope that will bring value to their lives.

It is a strange thing. So many complain about it, lack of help, interest, a bond, being lonesome but if it comes to it nobody wants to invest in someone else. We are too busy (but have time for hours tv and internet).

💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57592.54
ETH 2911.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67