Overnight Bus to Banaue Rice Terraces | Thoughts on the Road

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20191007_0056241792x1008.JPG

I'm now sitting on an overnight bus headed north. Unlike my previous domestic trips, this one is the start of my one way journey. No more condominium in Makati to go back to.

I had over a month since my last day in the office to prepare for this. Although I was planning to just stay in Makati city until my flight to Bangkok, things immediately changed and I'm now staying in the Mountain Province before Steemfest.

Not the Minimalist Nomad

It was hectic until earlier and I was still transferring stuff to the storage I rented. A couple of days ago, I was trying to fit my life in a 44L backpack but I gave up after 24 hours so I am taking with me a small luggage in addition to my backpack. I'm open to downsizing along the way (ie donate my stuff) if I find that the weight of my stuff is too much for the lifestyle I'm going to take.
IMG_20191006_1957261037x1843.jpg

It's easy while I'm here in the Philippines because I'm also getting help even if I don't ask. I can carry these bags on my own but I'm glad that men here always extend their help to carry my bag. Chivalry's not yet dead here. While other girls shout independence, I fully accept that I sometimes need a guy's help. Of course, I don't expect that from anyone but it's just a bonus for me for now.

Slow Travel

I realized that I'm not the backpacker I used to be when I was younger. I plan to travel slowly. While peope do Batad and Banaue (rice terraces area) for just 3 days, I will be there for 3 weeks.

It was so unusual that the owner of the inn where I will be staying at gave me a generous discount and I'm only paying half the price (cheaper than my Makati rent)! She was surprised that I was staying there for that long. She asked what will I be doing there, and I just replied that I wanted to rest.

I think I'm still processing my new way of life. I do not feel so excited because I've been sleepless these past days.

Goodbye and Thank You, Makati

One thing unexpected happened, I felt sadness leaving the city I've been trying to escape from for years. It was sad because all along I just wanted a home but I didn't find it in this city. I'm still grateful for the comfortable corporate life that I experienced here.

IMG_20190823_2017421037x1843.jpg I don't have a good photo of Makati available on my phone. This was taken on my last day in office.

Maybe I'll discover more when I get to Banaue and Batad, especially in Batad where there will be no network coverage so no distractions and I can really confront myself.

Anyway, I just thought of writing down my thoughts while on this long bus trip. No pretty photos yet but expect for some when I arrive in Banaue and Batad.

Sort:  

Congratulations @wanderein! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts. Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59