The Dark Side of Obsession

in #freewrite5 years ago

At times you meet someone whose story strikes you to the very core. This weekend we met a beautiful young woman who shared a very personal account of her life. Her smile belied her history and her engaging, beautiful face held no trace of a heartbreak no child should ever need to experience. A lesson etched in blood that will never leave her heart and soul.

When I innocently asked about her future plans in conversation as she went about her job, I was taken off guard with her candid response to an inquiry about her family. She mentioned her father's home as her current residence. At 19 this type of arrangement is quite common. She mentioned her mom in past tense to which I remarked and her story became dark and real. The face of a brave survivor emerged as she spoke of a night less than a decade past where a man, a jilted ex-boyfriend of her mother's shot his way into their home and gunned her mother down. He then turned the gun on himself while she and a younger sibling slept.

She named the murderer who was rushed to a hospital and later died of his bullet to the brain. Her mom died before help arrived. She mentioned the murderer who had no priors and a promising new career in a prominent position. The names and where we met her are withheld to protect her privacy. The incident happened less than one hour away from where I live. The story could have been my own had I not been able to escape my abuser a decade prior. Threats of being killed if I ever left or was caught with another man were all to familiar and drilled into my brain. I cringed as we talked and spoke of my mother's suicide, offering what support I could to this young woman. My heart broke for the children and the story seared my empath heart. The absolute horror of two young children separated eternally from a mother who loved them is an incredulous tale the world reads about in headlines daily.

The fatality is recorded online and since she named the man numerous times as she described her experience it was easy to locate. Her last words were" Don't, not with the children here!" before he killed her in cold blood.

Love is kind, and hurts no one. The driving psychosis of a person who would prefer killing the object of their obsession revealing much deeper darkness than my heart can fathom. I walked away changed from a chance encounter and pray that she finds healing and happiness in her future.

The National Domestic Violence Hotline (USA)

1-800-799-SAFE (7233)

SRC

This is my Five Minute Freewrite using prompt fatality.

Find a daily prompts at @mariannewest and add @freewritehouse to participate in contests to win upvotes and Steel Basic Income (SBI).


Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

My heart goes out to survivors of domestic abuse.

Posted using Partiko Android

Me too @improv. Thanks for reading and commenting. 💗

Posted using Partiko Android

A beautiful and yet sad read. I too am glad I got out of mine. My heart goes out to her and any others who are and will go through this type of incident. It is a cruel cruel world, and we must be as brave as possible, even when it seems useless. May she find peace and solitude.

Thank you @pixiehunter. I am so glad that you got out. I feel the same for her and pray peace will come to her.

Posted using Partiko Android

You are very welcome, and likewise :) ♥♥♥

💗💗💗

Posted using Partiko Android

Upvoted you here as well Janelle. Good work
@wandrnrose7, such things, when
True are disheartening.

Thank you, @jerrytsuseer. It surely is. :(

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97