You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 538: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: shade

in #freewrite5 years ago

I grew up with an adult child of an alcoholic who after I married and my parents divorced returned to the family choice of drink. Our home was dry from the time I was too young to remember, but mom struggled as a young mother and the communication issues were present between my parents. Mom took her own life at 56 as a drinker (her third attempt in her life was her final). One of three of my my four siblings battled and succeeded to overcome drink. My baby sister is clean now. The home life was different than yours but addictions stain lingers on in different ways. I emphasize with your battle because I walked into a controlling abusive marriage and walked 20 years on eggshells. I freed myself and my two children left at home and learned how to be independent, going on to get a communication degree. Thank you for sharing your story.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

And I am so pleased to hear you have got this snake by the head, and not the tail.

Thank you @owasco. I climbed a dark ladder to the sun!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for your comment. There are so many horrible stories! A great many of them contain a "controlling" person. I have one sister who is preposterously controlling, and I've often wondered why. Now I think it is just so that the 5:00 pre-dinner martinis begin at 5:00 sharp (followed by wine at dinner and beer on tap after), and the day's productive activities before that justify the drinking.

The sadness is the most unhappy people are those who feel compelled to control others. @owasco. Hugs

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91