Appetite: 5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

How apt that appetite is today's prompt, when today is a day when I'm batch-cooking myself into a frenzy to prevent my appetite from destroying Tokyo. That's right. I just compared my desire for food to the wrath of Godzilla. This is a thing, this has always been a thing, this has continued to be a thing even after I electively -- effectively -- had half of my stomach removed. Which I don't regret, by the way. I used to be the kind of person who would look at other people's portion sizes and wonder how they subsided on so little. "That's was a good appetizer, now what's for dinner?" was a frequent post-dinner joke in our household. Now I subside on what looks basically like a normal portion and it's a relief. But if I "eat around the tool," as they say... which I can and have done... my body begins to feel uncomfortable again.

There's a lot to write (and a lot I've already written, elsewhere) on my relationship with food. But one thing became clear to me several years into therapy, after trying every kind of approach to health: my food relationship will be with me all my life. I can treat it like my adversary and flail miserably, or I can treat it mindfully and carefully and almost feel normal. Of course, all that mindfulness-- the menu planning, the batch-cooking, the sometimes-inflexibility of my food plans -- they're not that normal. But the ability to reach into the fridge and grab exactly what I've planned to eat, and not participate in the age-old debate of "is this what I want? am I really hungry? what if I order something and it triggers a feeling and I get out of the habit and I can't stop my appetite"? Skipping that is what feels normal.

So I batch-cook. This week: breakfast's a slice of chicken-sausage/mushroom/spinach frittata and a handful of berries. Lunch is turkey-mushroom meatloaf and whipped cauliflower with goat cheese. Dinner is a steamed veg along with a shrimp-avo-cocktail. Snacks include an almond matcha latte with a protein boost, crunchy veg with a little blue cheese dip, and a nectarine with a little yogurt. And this sounds like a ridiculous amount of food, and my senses imagine that's true because there's such variety and care put into it. In total, though, it's pretty well-balanced and doesn't exceed 1400 calories. I hate that I know that. But I do. Because... appetite.

appetite.jpg
It looks like comfort food, and it mostly tastes and feels like comfort food, but it's primarily veggies and protein.

For Daily Freewrite and Selfie Celebration

Sort:  

Your meals sound delicious! I cant believe it all comes in under 1400 calories. Thats amazing - great job on the menu. Whipped cauliflower with goat cheese is something Ive got to try asap. Be proud of yourself for taking charge of your life and being healthy, dont hate it!

It sounds as if you put a great deal of thought and work into your meal planning. Good for you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73