Day 262: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday-Prompt: parachuted

in #freewrite6 years ago

Day 262: 5 Minute Freewrite Challenge initiated by @mariannewest. Sunday-Prompt: parachuted

source

Guided Imagery

The doctor told me to go to my happy place and to let him know when I was ready. Getting 12-36 trigger point injections each visit, every 3 weeks is not fun and painful.

My happy place is my own private island with a sandy, white beach and a small lagoon. My cat and I lay in the hammock as we listen to the small ripples of water from the lagoon reach the shore. The warm breeze slightly sways us back and forth until we are so relaxed that we can't move a muscle.

I was there and I raised my finger, signaling to the doctor that I was ready. He told me what to expect so I wouldn't flinch. "Here comes a little bee sting." Before he pushed the needle deeper he said, "Here comes the wasp." As the needle was about to go into the deepest part of my body he said, "And here comes the hornet."

After all of the injections were over, I stayed in my happy place until I had a different image. My doctor had invaded my happy place and parachuted hives of bees, wasps and hornets which landed outside of my hut. Swarms of them attacked ny neck and back as if they had sonar. That is when I left my happy place and was back in the real world. I was proud of myself because I only passed out once during the first session.

My awesome badge was made by @fireawaymarmot and personalized by @omra-sky. Thank you!

Sort:  

@whatisnew

Our Gang are here to Support , We are Cool

Whoa! That sure is a lot of dolphin power! Thanks and HUGS! to each and every one of you!!! Stay cool! : )

arghh. I don't like to get bee stings and for sure, hornet stings are no good. What is that treatment supposed to do?

I had ankle surgery and when I woke up it felt like they operated on my neck. The pain was excruciating and I couldn't move my neck so they put me in a neck brace until they knew why. Every disc in my neck had bulged. Being in a neck brace for 5 weeks froze my neck and I had to go to physical therapy to push those discs back in and to get my neck moving again. The tissues that surround the muscles had calcified and the injections were to burst the hard shell around those muscles or physical therapy wouldn't work. And I was told that all of this did not happen during surgery...yeah, right!

Oh wow!!! You poor thing!! They probably eliminated the words "side effects" from their vocabulary.

Oh, my! This sounds awful! And, now what if your happy place becomes the place of stinging insects? It's like an aversion therapy of sorts.

Now that you mention it, that hasn't happened...thank goodness! It is still my happy place without the bees, wasps and hornets. But when I see them outside, they remind me of that pain. Thanks for stopping by! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85