5 Minute Freewrite #1: Awakening

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

11:45 – Awake.

11:50 – Now fully, totally awake.

11:55 – This time perfectly awake. For real.

12:00 – I don't know why I was sleeping. But I'm really awake now. After many many weeks.

12:05 – A nurse came as soon as I woke up. She brought me lunch. She told me… what? I don't remember.

12:10 – Don't believe what I just wrote. I was asleep all day long… for several days, maybe. But now I assure you I am awake. Having lunch now.

12:15 – Just waken up in my beautiful room. I don't remember when I moved here. Somebody bit my steak.

12:20 – I don't know who wrote the last entries. It couldn't be me. I have just awaken. I remember me. My name is…

12:25 – OK, now I am awake. Had a coffee right now.

12:30 – Was he a doctor? What did he tell me?

12:35 – Glad I was awake when the woman came. She told me she loves me. I feel like I should remember her.

12:40 – Now perfectly awake. Who has been writing on this log, I wonder? The handwriting looks exactly like mine.

YOU ARE SUFFERING FROM SEVERE AMNESIA. YOU HAVE A MEMORY SPAN OF JUST A FEW MINUTES. SORRY. – OK, that wasn't me. It definitely was a doctor. Dr Green, I believe. I hadn't met him before. Dr Black, I believe. Why does he write on my log?

12:50 – OK, despite was I wrote before, now I am finally awake.

12:55 – Correction: I wasn't awake before. But now I am. Believe me.

13:00 – And now I am awake!

13:05 – Beautifully awake, at last. I think it's gonna be a great day.

Freely inspired by the true story of Clive Wearing, as related by Oliver Sacks. Thanks to @mariannewest.

Sort:  

I wonder about 13:10 ...very original and entertaining @wido! And welcome to the freewriters zoo!

Thank you! Your prompt was really inspiring…

Only the best shit from me ..yo!

Bravo! Vedi che non è così difficile?
Ovviamente, non serve che tu parta dai prompt vecchi, né che tu li faccia tutti; puoi agganciati al più recente ;)

Infatti, penso di continuare da qui! Finché dura… ;-) Grazie!

Wow, really great story! I can't even imagine a life like that.

Honestly, I can't either… Thank you very much!

Hello @wido and welcome to freewrite!

I must inform you that this post does not count because you broke the first rule, this is a five-minute freewrite and it looks like you took eighty minutes to write it! That means that you are simply going to have to repeat your entry and this time use only five minutes. 😄

Just kidding ha ha ha, great job, that was really fun! 👍

By-the-way, we are not much for rules around here except that we demand that you have fun with your freewrites! 😉

Eh eh… busted! ;-) Seriously, are you able to tell how long did it take for me to write it?

I must confess I first wrote it, then I put my baby to sleep, then I came back and read it again before posting it, with minimal changes. I think the whole composition time was around eight minute or so.

My goal is to stay within the five minute mark, but I still need some practice… Thank you for understanding! :D Freewriting is very funny indeed!

LOL, I just added up the timeline that you gave 11:45 - 13:05 which was 1hr and 20 minutes or 80 minutes. 😃

I spend more than 5 minutes sitting down with the prompt figuring out where I'm going to start lol, I can't think of many things, especially complicated things that require any thought, that I can do in 5 minutes or less. I'm pretty sure that I'm one of the slowest people on the planet. 🐢

Just have fun with your freewrites and use them as a tool to spur you to write more, that is the main rule and objective here.

LOL! I'm such a minnow I didn't get the joke!

I bet I am slower than you. And yes, I also develop the idea in advance and then write it. I think it would be impossible to write something meaningful in five minutes otherwise!

For me, it would be. But I just think about the prompt long enough to get something started and then let the story mature from that beginning. I also try to write everything in one sitting without taking any breaks. But everyone here does it differently and to me, that's part of the fun of it.

Really captivating! Awesome first freewrite :) I'll definitely be checking back in for future posts, well done!
If you have some free time it'd be awesome if you could check my latest freewrite out! https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mel1ss/day-80-prompt-awakening-5-minute-freewrite-challange

Thank you very much, I sure will!

This is great. I think I've had similar nights. 😁

Thank you! Really? That sounds scary… ;-)

Wow and welcome! And also... sorry, I made you skip 26 rep. :P

This drew me in.

I wonder what happened to the subject to create this confusion?

Solid, well written piece.

(Enjoyed the witty comments enormously too :)).

xox

You're very kind! It's a great encouragement!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68