5 Minute Freewrite: StetsonsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

1024px-Desert_Environment_in_the_Desert_National_Wildlife_Refuge.jpg

After three days spent fleeing through the desert, the satchel gripped in his hands, Tony felt his brain was burned to a crisp and decided to stop. The thought of Michelson was firmly lodged in the back of his head, so he waited a long time before approaching the brook: he had spotted an odd black dot there, next to the bank. Michelson's thugs were everywhere. After a good half-hour, when he was sure the dot was not moving, he got closer.

It was a Stetson. Just a stupid hat on the ground.

Curiously, it looked like Michelson’s. Tony filled his flask, laughed out loud and kicked it. The hat rolled away. There was a head below it.

He flinched. The head was buried up to the hairline. There was no other trace around: whoever had buried the guy had done a good job.

Tony started to dig. He brought the eyes to the surface: they was open and staring at him.

It was Michelson. His body was cold but not yet decaying. How did he make all the way there?

Frantically, Tony went on unearthing the head. He couldn’t explain why he was doing it. He dug up nose and mouth.

«Hi» said the head, still buried up to its neck. «I was waiting for you».

Tony recoiled. «Dude, there must be a mistake».

But the head was free by now. The rest of the body pulled up itself quite easily. Michelson stretched his legs a bit and fetched his hat. His grin was soil-like, as if the desert itself was taking its revenge.

«OK, where were we?» he said.


I must admit I cheated a bit this time. I first wrote the story in Italian (in more or less five minutes), and then translated it (in half an hour or so).

Image from Wikimedia Commons. Many thanks to @mariannewest.

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @wido to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

uhmmmmmm we need warnings with these type of storeys NOT to read them at 4 AM right before BED! LOLL

Nightmare City here I come!

and nothing wrong with the way you did your freewrite :D I think it was a very smart idea!! :D

Okay off to have nightmares............ LOLLL

OMG! I am terribly sorry!…

Oh. I'm so sorry!!

Your #freewrite was wonderful!!!!!!!! AND GREAT!!!! and a bunch of other wonderful words but I'm in a hurry and I'm going to be late but realized I NEVER <holds head down> said that late last night........
I'm so happy you listened to your Great friends and decided to join Steemit!!!! :D

I hope you slept well…

Thank you for your compliments, it's a great encouragement for a beginner!

I did thank you!! it was 4 am and I was so tired I think I just passed out loll :D and I never lie! you did Great!!

Why did you have qualms about freewriting? It comes out of your keyboard naturally!

Well, not really, I have to think a lot in advance, but it's really funny indeed!

Well I certainly didn't expect that! Great story.

I'm standing in for Marianne today with the link to the latest prompt
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-83-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-nose-ring

I think your fabulous Italian friends here do the same thing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68