Not Smart

in #freewrite6 years ago

photographyleafflowercloseupstainlessmacrophotography1224140pxhere.com.jpg
PxHere

I hear them whispering, "He's not smart."
It upsets me. I try. Sometimes I fail. I always smile; good or bad.

Mom says I can do anything I want. I want to fly. I can't. Leroy can fly. He has a jetpack. I need a jetpack too. Mom says Leroy is a cartoon. I want to be a cartoon if I can have a jetpack.

I like to feel the cool breeze through the window. The window kept closing. I found a toilet paper roll to hold it up. Now, I can feel the breeze.

The delivery men always left a package on the porch. Mom never knew. I found an old bike bell. Then I hooked a string to the gate and the bell. Now, when we get a delivery, the bell wakes Mom up.

It's hard for me. I try. Sometimes I do good. I wish people thought I was smart.

Day 354: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: not smart by @Mariannewest

Copyright © 2018 Michael Shawn Sommermeyer

Border
I'm adding writing tips and new pulp fiction on my Patreon page, where I'm creating a community. I have a lot of writing stuff on my website and I'm building a resource on my Discord channel. Join me!

Steemit Amazon RSS

Wordsmith Holler
Click on the image to become a Patron!

sc1024x768.jpeg
Border

Sort:  

I like that he found the toilet paper roll to let the breeze in--nothing dumb about that!
In a waking dream, I kept experiencing empty toilet paper rolls in each bathroom I entered and lamented why I had to be the one changing them all? After all, why couldn't these other adults (at a retreat center) just as easily put on a new roll? I asked my dream teacher to interpret the waking dream and he said he'd take it as a positive sign, that I am an agent of change :) I really did love the way he reframed my experience and seemed also a positive aspect of your story too :)

I’ve always been taken by the power of the underdog to exceed expectations. I like your dream interpretation; we all need to be an object of change!

Some people are just better than others at highlighting their own successes.
It’s the promptest of prompt delivery teams here with the challenge for today: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-355-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-well-being

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63868.85
ETH 3063.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10