'Dog Whistles' 5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite5 years ago

labrador-1699898_1920 (1).jpg
Today's prompt is "Dog Whistles":

It was a beautiful day as Sandra and July entered the gated dog park. July gently pulled on her leash, eager to join her canine friends. With a smile, Sandra unhooked the spaniel, who bounded off towards the others. She was surprised by the sight of her own friend on a nearby bench, though they looked a bit frazzled.

“Hey Denise, I didn’t expect to see you here so soon,” Sandra greeted.

“Oh, hi Sandra. I heard it was good for puppies to socialize while they’re young.”

“It’s true,” she agreed, while sitting down next to Denise. “You just have to keep an eye on them. Puppies can be troublemakers.” Denise let out an exasperated laugh.

“You can say that again,” she said, pointing to a young Labrador, running nearby. “Poltie here never runs out of non-toy things to chew. I never realized how many shoes and socks and just random things I had strewn about. No matter how much I clean up, he always finds them. I even caught him trying to take a bite out of the wall. Don’t get me wrong, I love him with all my heart, but he’s kinda a little monster.”

“July used to go after socks, too,” Sandra fondly remembered. “But she outgrew it eventually, and we make sure to take her on walks. That and a little training.”

“Hmm, we’ve been trying that. I think he knows his name is Poltie, and that ‘come’ means ‘get over here please,’ but he has trouble with ‘no’ and everything else. Even using the dog whistles, he just seems confused.”

“What do you mean?”

“Well, I thought I’d try communicating with a dog whistle. You know, maybe he’d understand something meant to speak to him. But instead he’d glance over and then ignore me. So I tried a few different ones and it was always the same.” Sandra shifted uncomfortably.

“Denise…you know the whistles don’t say words to the dogs, right?”

Denise briefly responded with a quizzical expression, before getting distracted. Poltie was determinedly chewing the base of a tree.

“Poltie, no!” Denise jumped up and ran towards the playful pup, who took one more nip before happily leaping away.


I've been really wanting a dog lately. Well, more like years, but sadly it's not something that'll happen anytime soon. One day.

Picture source

Sort:  

Dogs are great, but they are a lot of work. And they need so much attention! AND they need to learn some sort of command that means "no" so that they stop whatever it is they are doing. I've found that to be the key word. Except I use "Uh uh". I;m sorry you feel a dog is not in your future.

I'm here to deliver the Tuesday prompt so please write us another!

https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-711-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-civil-rights

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Yes, definitely lots of work! When I had dogs they understood "no" and its variants, although they didn't always like to hear it. Especially when it came between them and a food item 😂

Hi @zeldacroft, I love your story! I recommended this post for the weekly @pifc contest, and I am very happy to find you for it :) So glad you are freewriting with us.

Wow, I'm honored! Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed it!

That was very entertaining to read @zeldacroft, I enjoyed it very much, thanks for sharing this story, it's awesome.


This post is AWESOME!

It has therefore got a manual 100% upvote from @thisisawesome, for the Awesome Daily Upvotes in category Freewrite, I give out 1 such vote in that category per day, plus 3 more in other categories, and your post will also be featured in todays Awesome Daily report for more visibility.

The goal of this project is to "highlight Awesome Content, and growing the Steem ecosystem by rewarding it".

Those curious and exasperating pups! I know what you mean and I really miss my dog. Nice freewrite!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! I miss mine too. Still, it's fun thinking about life with puppies!

I liked the part of the beginning where you say that dogs need to live with their kind when they are young. Excellent story.

Hello @zeldacroft, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Very cool little story and it seems to be based on true events. Thanks for sharing!

Congratulations on being featured by @fitinfunfood in an entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

I hope you don't have to go too much longer without a pup. Wonderful freewrite.

You are featured in Week 78 - Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @fitfunfood. @pifc is a Pay It Forward Community which believes in by helping others grow we build a stronger community. We run this contest each week, it is open to everyone. It's a great way to some curation done, celebrate someone you find that might need some more exposure, meet new people, and possibly win some SBI for you and your featured Steemians

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64009.76
ETH 3148.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91