Freewrite #12 - Paper

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Typewriter Tattoo.jpg

Paper is an interesting word. I prefer to use it as a metaphor for my life. The tattoo on my arm (pictured) is dedicated to my closest friend that committed suicide in 2014. He was an author and collected typewriters. The model on my arm was his favorite that now sits on his youngest son’s desk.

The typewriter is a powerful weapon, but only as powerful as the paper used to convey the thought. The piece of paper in the typewriter on my arm is blank for a reason. In my world, the story is still unwritten.

I got this tattoo a few months after my cardiac arrest. The way I see things, everything I do from this point forward is “bonus time” and extra icing on the cake, known as my life. I died and miraculously survived. My life is now a blank slate, hence the piece of paper.

Paper is used to tell your story.
Paper is your daily life.
Every day is a new piece of paper.
What’s on your page?

It starts off blank, but then what?
Does it get dark?
Is it bright and cheery?

I can honestly say that most of the pages that constitute my life, before the incident, were darker shades of grey. Usually filled with ominous looking clouds, my outtake on life was a bit “doom and gloom”.

After the incident, I’ve completely changed things that make me unhappy. I’ve dropped 110 pounds. I focus everyday on not “sweating the small stuff”. Adopting the #zfg policy outlined in the book, “The Subtle Art Of Not Giving A F*!@”, which I highly recommend.

Paper is what you make of it.
Paper is the fabric of your life.
Paper is your gift to this planet.
Leave it blank, make it dark, make it bright.

But, make it, nonetheless.

We’re waiting.

Christopher Cooley.jpg
(R.I.P. Christopher Cooley)

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Sort:  

You are awesome at this free write thing! What a touching tribute to your friend.

Thanks for the props. I kinda just type out what's on my brain with no real thought to the way it's received. I'm oblivious to that, I guess. I appreciate the kind words.

my problem is i cant even make sense of what i wrote myself, hahaha.

Bullocks! It's called a "brain dump" for a reason. Freewrite = Brain Dump. You see the word and you just type out that stream of consciousness. It could be awesome. It could be a giant shit show. It doth not matter. The purpose is to get it all out there in text. It's actually therapeutic, if you want it to be. Kinda like gardening.

Also - just learned something new! Dont vote on comments unless you have .03 payout or higher. Anything less than that gets rounded down and the penny is lost forever - nobody gets it. If you see other comments with 1 or 2 cents, then help get them paid out by adding a penny :D

ah, thats the issue then! When I garden, I do throw everything into a pot and then when I look back at it I take everything out, rearrange, move this guy over there and take that guy out completely....and then probably come back in a few hours and decide to put that guy back in and rearrange all over again. LOL.

A very touching free write indeed. I’m glad the pages of your life turned a lighter shade of grey.
I remember those typewriter days so well and before Tippex we used to have to place a piece of sticky paper over any typing errors. That’s how old I am!
It’s your friendly neighbourhood free write encourager here with today’s prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-209-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-milk

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33