Day 475: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: rooster

in #freewritehouse5 years ago

IMG_20190207_124646361.jpg
"Take roosters for example."

The teacher was discussing the differences among the male members of various species. In her typical fashion from her seat in the back of the classroom, Annette had asked a provocative question.

"Males are so self-promoting. What can be done about stopping all that? Why can't we pass laws prohibiting toxic male behavior?"

"Well, there are actually laws against this type of behavior. Take roosters for example. In many areas, one is allowed to raise chickens, but not allowed to have a rooster. Can anyone think of why this might be?"

Over on the other side of the room, Cindy was having a hard time of it. She fought back tears. Now Cindy has always been invisible, and she did her utmost to not attract attention, but here she was sniffling in the back corner opposite Annette. One by one, students turned to look. Some of the boys started making fun.

"Oh look, this one is crying over a rooster."

"Cry baby cry baby!" made a louder ripple through the room, more like a tsunami.

Annette was worst of all. "You must have a toxic male in your household. I bet he yells at you constantly."

"My neighbors called the police yesterday and today they took away Red. My neighbors didn't like his crowing at dawn. But I loved him!"


This is an entry for a verily fun freewrite contest (sorry about the gratuitous adverb): https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-475-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-rooster , which I highly recommend!

OK I gotta say, this freewriting stuff is the bomb! A workshop I took with @jayna last night has given me more courage to just dive in and see what comes out. Tried out some of the dialogue tag stuff we talked about too.

Notes to myself: This time I had to add half a minute so I could wrap it up - about all I knew when I started was how it was going to end (oh goodness there is a bit of poetry popping in). I wish I had used the word train so I could do more with it. Maybe I will anyway. "Train of thought" should be easy to fit in there somewhere. And freedom of speech is very much on my mind today.

Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

Ha!!! I had a rooster by name Red :) He is now in Arizona hopefully happily hanging around a bunch of girls.

Poor Red... 😥

Thank you for freewriting with us! Here's the prompt:- Day 476: 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: groundhog day.

Thanks again! With love and hugs.

MomentCam_20181119125715.gif

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97