Sort:  

You know, I've just remembered that I once played a Ranger named Draven in a past D&D campaing, he was the only of his party to survive till the end... anyways, a realist take in Katéa’s situation could have been done well, but since you said that you never planned an actual general plot, then humour is better, it allows to "go with the flow"

Well, that bodes well for my Draven! :D
I've never played tabletop D&D, but played some PC games with the mechanics. Like Neverwinter Nights. Good thing I didn't name him Bishop, we could be in for some chaotic evil trouble. ;)

I think the "realist" approach would be good if I was doing a dark and gritty story. I usually do. But when I write those, I fall too deep into my character's perspective and end up becoming depressed myself. That was beginning to happen with this chapter. I didn't want that to happen so I figured, just keep it light, keep it funny, add some dark bits here and there, but do it in an amusing way.

Yes! Much easier to "go with the flow!" :) Which is necessary for this type of story; done by the day and not exactly thought of in advance.

Surely you jest!
*I wrote 700 words first thing in the morning, and I didn't like a single one of them. I mean, it's NaNoWriMo, I don't have to like the words, I just need to get them out. But these were words I specifically didn't think worthy of being in the story at all - yet you posted them anyway- and I'm so glad you did!! You are NOT a good judge of your own writing! This is great stuff!
And you're right, this is NaNo. We don't have to like our output. We just have to keep putting it out - and fix it LATER. Somebody whip me and make me comply.
You're doing great and I look forward to more. Quint, now, and the flaming paper money (I'd blow an aorta) - he sounds promising, but so does Draven. Triangle....?

Oh, no; it was no jest!
I wrote all of these words involving Kat crying, tears rolling down her cheeks, chucking a little hissy-fit, bemoaning her life, was it even worth living anymore? There are only two characters of mine who are allowed to make me depressed, and those are Lyria and Cael in Vengeance. I want this to be a bit more upbeat and fun!!

I ended up transferring all the words to Wordpad and deleting them from Scrivener, and re-wrote them back into Scrivener minus the tears, tantrums, and torment. Then it was much better! :D

Quint... he is not what he seems. ;) I just wrote a whole heap of what I envision, and swiftly removed it; those would be spoilers! I'm so so glad that you're enjoying my story! Need to crack my typing-fingers and get started on today's chapter. :D

Oooh, I know what you mean, writing fun stuff about Quint, realizing it's a spoiler, forcing yourself to withhold information from the reader and dole it out bit by bit... make the reader keep turning pages to find out things, and never let the heroine know what you know all along, how AWESOME the hero is... love at first sight can be fun, but I'm a fan of the "sleeper," the real jewel being there all along but heroine is blind. Yes, keep typing!!

Given the way the adventure is going I'd say the phone would have come to a sticky end anyway even if she hadn't thrown it into the fire. But still see what happens when you chuck a tanty XD

#NovMadFan Bruni says, who doesn't laugh at farts. 💨 I don't know what you scrapped, but this is excellent. 👏

Oh there are some people out there! Me? I think they're hilarious and I'll torment my partner with them. Muahahaha!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87