Sinkable (Freewrite Prompt: Desert)

in #freewritepoetry6 years ago

Sinkable

It feels as if I have been walking
one foot right after the other
sinking deeper and deeper with every step
in this sand they once called "to recover"

I fall onto my knees, I break
my mind begins to rethink
it's easier to stay
it's easier to sink

under a cloudless sky
in the heat of the sun
surround by nothing
what is it that I have become?

not asking for help
not telling a soul
of this desert I am in
and that it's taking a toll?

I am seeing mirages
of futures that I cannot have
they taunt and tease me
they point and they laugh

the sand is too much
it grabs and takes me under
they call me a fake
I sink deeper and deeper

and so I stay in this sand
my mouth filling with grain
they will never understand it
or this thing in my brain

Sort:  

Some really good imagery there and I love the title!

it’s the promptest of prompt delivery teams here with your challenge for today: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-314-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-sheep

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65686.10
ETH 2943.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73