Summer Nights (Freewrite Prompt: Drive)

in #freewritepoetry6 years ago

IMG_6532.jpg

I have a special place in my heart
that no one can take away
for summer and nights filled with driving
and that old roadway

when the sun goes to sleep
and the air is cool
the windows can be rolled down
and your heart begins to pull

the air has a certain taste
that I wish I could trap in a bottle
one of freedom, one of peace
that is tasted by only a couple

the wind coursing through her hair
as trees pass us by
the moonlight shines on her face
I feel like I could fly

you don't need any music
for the sound of the wind and her humming
is enough in its own
to drown out the constant drumming

these summer nights I hold so dear
they remind me that even in a short amount of time
I can love my life
and my life, is in fact mine.


Thanks to @mariannewest for this freewrite!


Sort:  

Congratulations, you are in the Freewrite House Poetry Digest

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@freewritehouse/poetry-digest-eighteenth-edition

I am going to look for a more recent post for an upvote :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67