The Burning Embers

in #freewritepoetrydigest6 years ago (edited)

While staring at the burning embers,
A memory from the past was triggered,
'Twas blurry—and now I clearly remember,
A friend who has always been my defender.



Doesn't seem to care about the manics.
Doesn't laugh at anyone mediocre antics;
Girls swooned over his dapper and snob characteristics,
But he only cares about his moto and other mechanics.



That day, my anxiety creeps in, I sat at the corner,
"Hey, are you okay?" he said in a whisper;
Then he sat beside me—consolingly patted my shoulder,
I looked in his eyes and I know I'll never be alone, never.



Wherever I go, he follows,
Whatever I do, he must know;
Whoever hurts me, will never see a rainbow,
Whenever I need help, he'll be my hero.



But the joke was still on me even after seventeen years,
He left where I can't follow, He made sure I won't see him ever;
My heart still hurts, my eyes still well with tears,
I miss him... while I'm staring at the burning embers.



4D9F62FA-3E70-45C5-BA75-070BA1AD380F.jpeg
source


“When he shall die,
Take him and cut him out in little stars,
And he will make the face of heaven so fine
That all the world will be in love with night
And pay no worship to the garish sun.” ― William Shakespeare, Romeo and Juliet



TODAY'S PROMPT: BURNING


* Freewriting- is the practice of writing down all your thoughts without stopping, and without regard for spelling, grammar, or any of the usual rules for writing. It might include a topic (prompt) as a general guide, or it might not.
** Thank you @mariannewest for your initiative to run #freewrite, #freewritepoetry, #freewritepoetrydigest.



michellpiala300.png

Have you voted your witness?

Consider casting your witness votes for @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle), @qurator, @acidyo, @blocktrades, @cloh76.witness, @ausbitbank, @precise, @enginewitty, @noblewitness and @curie who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community.

To cast your votes, just go to

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

Hello michellpiala
You are welcomed by the service of FreeResteem.
We want to bring more people to your post.
If you like our service then put a upvote under this comment.
Thank you for remain with Steemit.

this touched my heartstrings.... especially towards the end.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by michellpiala from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

so sad - and so beautiful all in one

Ahhh so heartbreaking. I felt the emotion deeply. I love the added quote from Shakespeare, too. Well done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79