When Dark Shadows Visit Me

in #freewritepoetrydigest6 years ago (edited)

You may wonder why I stayed out too late,
The reason is I'm waiting and not because I'm on a date;
I'm waiting for my mind to calm and not retaliate,
For in my dreams there's a recurring war that I really hate.



I envied those people who doesn't worry and can sleep easily,
No Monsters, No missing Teeth, No Crocodiles and Banshees;
Terrified of the dark shadow that visits and sleeps with Me,
Bragging its hold over my fears—I overslept consequently.



But of all these dreams I went through,
There's one thing that I look forward to;
It is when I carry in my arms and on my back my bambinos,
And together we fight like real superheroes.



F1851E4C-ACC8-46FF-903C-CA8ECA4C1A33.jpeg
source

“I wonder why I don't go to bed and go to sleep. But then it would be tomorrow, so I decide that no matter how tired, no matter how incoherent I am, I can skip on hour more of sleep and live.”—Sylvia Plath



TODAY'S PROMPT: OVERSLEPT


* Freewriting- is the practice of writing down all your thoughts without stopping, and without regard for spelling, grammar, or any of the usual rules for writing. It might include a topic (prompt) as a general guide, or it might not.
** Thank you @mariannewest for your initiative to run #freewrite, #freewritepoetry, #freewritepoetrydigest.



michellpiala300.png

Have you voted your witness?

Consider casting your witness votes for @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle), @qurator, @acidyo, @blocktrades, @cloh76.witness, @ausbitbank, @precise, @enginewitty, @noblewitness and @curie who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community.

To cast your votes, just go to

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

It’s terrible when you can’t get your brain to switch off so that you can sleep.
It’s the Wednesday prompt delivery team here with your challenge for today: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-293-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-smooth-as-silk

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

I hope you got some sleep after that :) as always, your poems touch

Hoping you'll soon get to sleep with no problems at all!

I'm hoping for that too. Thank you @pjcorts

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by michellpiala from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99