Living With A Disabled Person

in #freewriting6 years ago

I am living with the beautiful Abbi. Whom is disabled and needs assistance with every aspect to her everyday needs. Now she as I have learned in the ten years we have been together she is very clever. She has grown socially in her time with me. We work on manners and body control together.

Some have wondered why I do what I do. Why I would not put Abbi into the care systems available like nursing care homes etc...

Well to tell the truth I think about it often. Then I think God gave us this path and we shall follow it. We are together happy and healthy by most standards. Even with the loss of income from my own earning. The lack of money is not the biggest impack on our lives.

The biggest thing I find hard to handle is the perception I feel from others who think my cause is harmful some how to myself or Abbi.

We have survived not by our own will but by Gods will.

I had a visitor yesterday. She knows us from the Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW). She had never visited before at our home.

She brought Abbi a belated Birthday gift. We visited while I feed Abbi.
She asked if Abbi liked to be fed her meals.
We said, No Abbi does not want her meals always.
She asked why I give them if she does not want the meal.
My answer was. I have to feed her or she will get sick and I could go to jail.

Now am I wrong to give up things in my life to care for a gift from God that is my Abbi now?

20181017_141214.jpg

The people who try to guide me into letting go of Abbi make me think. Which may be good and may not thinking to much can be bad.

Is it crazy to follow a path that is a bit difficult or not crazy.

Time will tell I will continue to take the best care of Abbi as I am given this ability from God.

I may not recieve a reward in this life at this time.

Unless Abbi is the reward and then I am the winner today.

Love to all

Sort:  

Sacrificing things from our own lives to care for family is the fullest expression of love we can create. Our culture is designed to separate families & profit off of care, but we need more people investing in love & family, like you 💚

Odd thing here is I am not family. Abbi is 26 years old. And has one surviving parent that signed Abbi to me. I am a guardian and love Abbi with all my heart. Its nice to be here for her.

Thank You

Love

Sounds like you are family to me!

Are we not all Family I reckon.😁

Love

Highly rEsteemed!

francis_bacon_quote.jpg

Thank you very much.

thank you for sharing this honest and open look with us... the work you are doing is needed in this world and helps driven people like me take a step back and give thanks and also realize that the push to always be working is so well balanced with just giving thanks in the moment. you are a true heroine and Abbi has a beautiful smile and i love her bedding. much love and blessings to you.

Your very sweet and kind. Thank you for you are also wonderful.
Abbi does love the colors in her life.

Love

You know what Julie...the honesty, the vulnerability...the truth and the humanness that you have shown us here, continually, with your writing...is a gift.

Sharing your real feelings, thoughts, doubts and wishes...it's so BRAVE. I will always support you here on the blockchain as much as I can. I hope the little we can do here, can give you an extra boost of income.

Thank you for sharing your journey with us. You continue to amaze me. I love you and Abbi. I couldn't imagine the difficulties that you endure, day to day. You are so strong Julie...so strong. Such a wonderful mother, care giver, a Human Angel in every way.

Thank You for tears of Happiness are Flowing here.

Venting here is rewarding for the connection here are special to me.

I want to help others by showing how to survive.

Laughter, Tears are healing

Love

Bravo, my dear friend I am continously in awe of the journey you have chosen to take with Abbi. Always, love and best wishes for both of you

Many Thanks my Dear, It is well worth all the struggles to be her guardian, companion, and I enjoy it more than anyone should. Abbi is the best.
Love

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61372.42
ETH 2928.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66