How I recently lost a friend

in #friend5 years ago

My friend recently called me. "I'm getting installed," he said. "We're having a dinner tomorrow night. Come for the dinner."

It was an installation dinner. He was slated to be a rather important committee member.

"OK," I said. I was his chairman in another association. He was inviting me as a chairman.

"Bring friends and other committee members," he urged.

"OK," I said again.

By the next day, I had invited two other people to follow me to dinner. One accepted. The other said no.

Around noon, he called me to remind me to come.

At 5.40pm, he sent me a message. "It's RM380 per ticket. Thank you."

He hadn't told me of the price. I would have seriously reconsidered going to the dinner, had I known of the price.

At 5.50pm, I called him to say that it was quite expensive. My committee would not agree to spend this kind of money.

He pleaded for me to come in my personal capacity. I apologized as it was rather last minute. Dinner was fixed at about 7pm.

He was upset and said that he had always supported my events.

The truth was, it was not quite the same. He didn't have to pay to attend my events.

I apologized again. Cashflow was tight, I said.

Once again he rambled on, louder this time. And then he hung up.

That was the end.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60906.91
ETH 2920.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69