Ailed To Excellence

in #friendship5 years ago

I have this friend I've known for quite a while whom I'd meet up with randomly after having been AWOL for a given period of time. It happened in bursts of 5-6 months when she'd vanish completely, and then make an appearance in my inbox. We'd meet for coffee, talk about work, life and new things. It was always great.

jud.jpg

One odd thing is whenever we met, there was this unsaid competition to outdo each other in who can find the coolest cafe/workspace in the city.

She has an incredible mind, my friend, such that I always go away learning something new at our meet ups. She's a kind of no-nonsense go-getter too. There are very few people I know that have the same level of self determination as she does. Of course, she's physically fit and her work life is in order.

She's an Instagram quote come to life!

The last time we met up, last summer, it was her turn to find a cool place. We went to this hidden Italian coffee shop / breakfast restaurant in the middle of a place so posh, I can't remember where it is. It was so Italian that they refused to serve Americanos there. Instead, I got the European style slightly diluted espresso and a glass of water. I also got a side eye from the waiter, perhaps for asking for what was akin to a Big Mac at a real burger house.

My friend has this one issue that she's been trying to resolve for many years. It is the only thing that she has not been able to resolve, and she has become so obsessed with finding a solution to it, that it controls her life more than it should. Because of her go-getter problem solver personality, she will not let go, even though she admits realising that it would be better to do so.

The issue has to do with a chronic condition that affects her appearance. It shows itself on the face as well. A lot of people have it actually - it's some kind of skin condition - but it really isn't a bad thing per se. It could actually be considered "attractive" by some, and on some, if it's not severe. It's one of those conditions that are not life threatening or dangerous in any way, but over-proportionately affects people that have them - like male pattern baldness, wrinkles or grey hair.

She's hell bent on finding a solution that it drives her diet, lifestyle and ethics. As a result, she's super healthy, super fit and has developed strong environmental ethics.

We were having this conversation over the last coffee we had together all those months ago. I said to her, and I think she knows it deep down, that she will never find a cure, but having this one issue to chase has really made her an amazing person.

From my point of view, I wondered if it would benefit us all to have this one issue that drives us to excellence, like my friend's skin condition.

.. don't ask me what the skin condition is, I'm not going to say :)

She has vanished again now, and it's been over 6 months, so any time now I'm expecting to see a message in my inbox. It would be my turn to find an even more awesome place than that Italian hideout. I am up to the challenge, naturally. I am also bracing myself for the event of her having found a solution to her issue. I'd have to eat my hat, forever be in awe of this person, and worry that she may cease being superhuman.



banner-grey.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Wow! What a nice story! I wish I had a friend like this! Actually I used to have a friend like her at college. She also had the same skin condition, but it’s all over her body. But she’s so bright and cheerful. She married a mathematician and has two sons, they now live in the USA. I have heard from her many years now. Her skin used to flakes all over the floor of her bed room! We had a good time together pub crawling! But we both had orange juice!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Beautiful touching love story. I have read and feel very much beautiful.

Family drives me to excellence as I feel responsible for their wellbeing and enjoy the moments I work to have by their side! However, I am grateful that I can say this as many cannot.

Posted using Partiko iOS

And to pass the challenge would not be a difficult one for you to do sure

Sometimes the cure is not a solution to anyone's problems. I can understand her perfectly, each of us has this kind of problem at a smaller scale and accepting is the last thing on our agenda. I know that you will find the perfect coffee for next time :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87