Sketching Souls - Part 1

in #friendship6 years ago (edited)

I used to sketch a lot when I was younger, before I entered the 'real world'. For years I had stopped honing my artistic skills and focused more on other physical activities. I had always felt that gap and lately, I've begun sketching more to bridge that gap. I find it especially therapeutic when I sketch people I love.

There's a connection you build with the person, and then I feel that connection kind of gets translated onto paper - when I'm putting in the details of every wrinkle, each strand of hair, the eyes, it's like mapping out the relationship I've had with the person. It becomes more than a portrait sketch, it's an artful memory of someone. Here's a portrait I did of one of the most beautiful people in my life, Azzy. I met her back in 2008 I believe, during So You Think You Can Dance Season 1 Malaysia. She was, is, a salsa dancer.

And ever since, our friendship has bloomed into a tree. I love everything she stands for, her spirit, her values and her honesty. She is now married and living in France, she is far from home and I miss her terribly but if I ever need advice about anything with emotions, it is her! She has always been there for me. It was her birthday recently and I had forgotten her birth date, but intuitively I felt the urge to sketch her, and so it became as below:

20180430_232648.jpg

IMG_0593.JPG

More beautiful souls to come!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73