Disc Golf @ Woodland Creek Community Park | Lacey, WA

in #frolf6 years ago

My buddy Gilbert from work and I had tried to go here last week, but there was a closed tournament going on so we couldn't play. We decided to go play at the Evergreen State College's course, but only made it part of the way around due to the long trek and lack of upkeep. I lost not one, but two discs out in that woodsy madness last week - my only two distance drivers. So yesterday, I was borrowing Gilbert's driver.

When we got to hole 1 at 9:30 AM, there was a fella sitting on the bench eating a salad. He had beers sticking out of his disc golf bag, as is customary for disc golfers. After we exchanged the niceties, the guy introduced himself as Mitch and asked to join our game, to which we agreed. This is something I've always loved about disc golf - it's really easy to join someones game or have them join yours and make a new friend that day.

Mitch (center) and Gilbert (right), throwing putts on the unofficial 10th hole

This course is a huuuuuge step up from Evergreen's course - well kept, varied holes, with clear maps of the paths to the baskets at each tee. I'm sure I'll make another post with better pictures sometime - I only got a few good shots as it can be hard to find enough time while playing to take photos. 

Mystery basket - maybe hole 5 or 6, can't remember

I was sucking really bad yesterday. So bad that 'really bad' deserves bold, italicized lettering. That's bad. I stopped counting after I got about 4 bogies in a row... Ah well, it's all in good fun, we had a great time. I had a couple of good drives + putts, but nothing spectacular or consistent. I need to get my muscle memory back. Hopefully that will happen if Gilbert and I make this a weekly thing like we've been talking about.

Mitch was killing it, he had a real good arm. He said he had played over 100 courses, and was about to take a trip to Oregon to add some new ones to his list. It's easy to forget that some people take disc golfing really seriously - I've always thought of it as a simple pastime as opposed to anything competitive. 

Gilbert in his post-throw stance

In the next week, I'll have to find time to go buy a new driver to play with the next time around. Hopefully I don't play so awfully. Thanks for checking out this short post, stay tuned for more photos from another round here and likely more courses in the future! Steem On, friends! <3

All photos taken by me, with my ancient Nikon D70 camera. Edited with Snapseed.

By the way, did you hear about the minnow uprising? It's high time for a redfish revolution!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84