Meal Planner #5: VEGETABLE BARLEY SOUP- Winter Warmer - Recipe @Cooknbake!

in #frui6 years ago (edited)

20180613_110128.jpg

Gosh its getting collllld! That wintry breeze has been knocking on our door the past few days!
Yup, winter is arriving and the heaters in the house are on! I love summer but this summer was SO hot in Brisbane!
we had days with 43 degrees! I was dying for a taste of this wintry feeling! On those hot days you just wish you had your personal little air con with you ! :) So now that time of year is back and I'm loving it!

This vegetable-barley soup is also my entry for the lovely @lenasveganliving #fruitsandveggiesmonday contest!,
So thank you so much @lenasveganliving for your love and devotion to this weekly contest and healthy food you promote to all of us foodies out there :)

20180611_153118.jpg

It's that time of year here in Australia for those warm hot chocolates, the cuddling inside your bed in the morning and not wanting to get out of your fluffy blanket, those cosy days inside your warm house and enjoying a nice movie... ahhh... and of course... having those hot comforting meals that keep you nice and warm and satisfied inside:)

20180611_153123.jpg

So for this occasion- Today was that day when I made one of my favourite soups, a hearty winter warmer: VEGETABLE BARLEY SOUP to keep you warm and cosy inside for those cold days ahead.

20180611_144727.jpg

20180611_153823.jpg

You can add just about any veggies you want inside. just cut or chop them up to the size of our preference (I like them chopped up finely:)), toss them in the pot, add water and spices, cook for about an hour and you've got yourself a healthy, comforting and satisfying meal!

20180613_110109.jpg

SO LETS START COOKING!!


VEGETABLE BARLEY SOUP WINTER WARMER- Recipe
@Cooknbake:


20180613_110030.jpg

Ingredients:

1 cup pearled barley, uncooked and rinsed
1 tablespoons oil
1 large onion
1 potato
1 head cauliflower
1 head broccolli
2 zucchini, peeled
3 carrots, peeled
mushrooms, sliced
1 bunch parsley, chopped
1 bunch dill, chopped
½ tablespoon ground cummin
salt and pepper to taste
about 8 cups of water
(Optional: any other vegetables desired, about 1/2 cup each)

Method:
-Cut/chop all the vegetables to your desired shape/ size.
-In a large pot sautee the onions in the oil for a minute or two.
-Add the vegetables, cook and mix occasionally for about 3-5 minutes.



-Add in the barley, water and all other remaining ingredients and bring the mixture to a simmer:

20151113_1110402.jpg

-Once it simmers, reduce the heat to medium-low and cover your pot and cook for about 40-50 minutes (until the barley is soft and a bit fluffy). Stir occasionally:

Serve hot with your favorite crunchy croutons

20180613_110024.jpg

and enjoy each bite!

*This simple and healthy soup recipe makes a generous amount, so plan on having some leftovers!

20180613_105942.jpg

Hope you liked!

For more of my previous meal planners:

Meal Planner#1: Sweet-peas-in-tomato-sauce-with-white-rice-on-the-side
Meal Planner#2: Healthy Mediterranean Style Breakfast!
Meal Planner#3: Golden Crispy Chicken Schnitzel
Meal Planner #4:Crispy-pan-fried-minced-meat-cutlets-recipe

and to go on the side:

-5 simple salad ideas and recipes for your meal
-4 ways to roast your veggie bites

More simple recipes to come! So stay tuned :)

-All pictures are mine and original, taken on my Galaxy S7 phone-

I love reading your thoughts and comments! Any feedback is always welcome ! So please keep 'em coming! :)

See you soon!

Have a great week!

Much Love ❤️

Ice Cream Party.jpg

20180613_110030.jpg

Sort:  

I love barley soup, nothing like comfort food when it gets cold right? This is beautiful, I love the vegetable adds, really wonderful!

Thank you so much for the lovely words @birdsinparadise! Glad you liked the recipe for the soup! Definitely comforting and satisfying for these cold days were starting to have here in Brisbane :)) time of year to start trying out some more soup recipes!!🤗

oh my my looks incredible! I love soups!! :) I will definitely have to try this one out. :)

Its getting colder here in Australia, winter is coming and time for those soup recipes to come out!😄🍲 glad you like this one @mrchef111

oh yes it is getting really hot here in Arizona lol the high this week will be 110 F, which is still not too bad, I am dreading the 120 heat we will get. lol one of my favorite soups is a good ham and potato soup. so delicious.

It's not winter here, ever, but I'd still eat that. Looks yum!

Thanks @choogirl! I hope all is well🤗 have a great week😁

Yumm I love barley so much! Your soup looks so delicious, I'm sure it tasted amazing!!

Aww, thank you for the lovely comment @nina.ser! So glad you liked it! It keeps us nice and warm on these cold days were starting to have in Australia:)

We're full on in summer here now, but I enjoy soup year-round! Veggie soup is good in all seasons in my opinion. :) Looks delicious!

I have tasted barley soup a long ago. The pics you have uploaded looks so vibrant, And seeing this, I feel like eating barley soup.
I will try to make these meals today, I wish I could get better result

@niteshgupta thank you for your lovely comment! glad you like the pics and recipe :) I hope you get a chance to try it out, Ill be happy to know how it went 😀

@cooknbase Yeah!! I tried all my best to impress my gf that i also know some cooking.
Well she reacted like it was good. But when I tasted, Taste was utter nonsense.
Well i will try to make it again this time more perfect.

LOL! Im sure she appreciated thge effort last time though @niteshgupta:)
I hope this time youll get it to her taste! (practice makes perfect!)
hoping for an update :P

@cooknbake Yeah sure i will let you know, This time she actually liked it or not.
And also i will try to make some more interesting dishes, learning through your blog

Soup time here in South Africa as well, I made a big pot of pea soup yesterday! Your barley soup looks absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing.

Just saw I missed your comment @lizelle .. sorry for the late reply. Im glad you liked the barley soup:) pea soup sounds warm and delicious to me right now! Maybe an idea for a post for the people from the wintry side of the globe😉 hope youre having a great week!

I love barley soup and this one is really delicious 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

This is what I need right now because winter seems to be knocking on our door as well and it's officially summer haha.
It looks hearty and delicious!

Thank you @carolynstahl, Im glad you liked it:) were stsrting to feel the winter already so this was my opening winter season dish for my family 🤗 summer and feeling wintery at your place? where are you from @carolynstahl?🤔

Montreal. It's finally very hot here. I complain quite a bit about the weather.

@carolynstahl last time I was in Montreal it was FREEZING! glad youre having some hot days now :)
Im also a weather complainer😆 when its too hot I want the winter to come and vice versa! 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59585.77
ETH 3002.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78