Fruits and Veggies Monday | Sweet Summer Crispy Tarts! Its Rhubarb Love!

DSC_0028 (2).jpg

Happy Monday my sweet Friends! Ready for another week of fabulous Fruits and Veggies?



I want to thank @plantstoplanks and @lenasveganliving for the Fruits and Veggies Monday challenge. It’s such a great opportunity to celebrate good health and great foods each week. Isn’t it amazing the way our worldwide community grows and grows? What a living testimony to their visions. Not wanting to forget our kind sponsor @donkeypong who has been a huge support and sponsor, thank you!


My visit to the market this weekend was indeed a sweet one! I generally hit the fruits and vegetable area first. It seems to be where I spend most of my time! Yesterday I spotted one of my favorite summer vegetables! Rhubarb!

Yes Rhubarb is a vegetable, not a fruit!


Rhubarb is relatively high in fiber, vitamins C and K but what I love best...

It's very Tart!


Oh yes, its tart and I love to pair it with Strawberries! Strawberry jam, pies, in smoothies, with yogurt, mmmm the options are endless. I have such fond memories growing up with my grandmother making pies and jams using strawberries and rhubarb.


DSC_0010 (2).jpg

I was in the mood for a crispy fruit tart this weekend. You know, the kind with the buttery, nutty crumbly topping? I haven’t prepared anything like this for so long, seeing the rhubarb made it a no-brainer, lol!

Rhubarb-Strawberry Tarts it is!

I used!

For the Filling...

  • Fresh Strawberries (2 cups)
  • Fresh Rhubarb (2 cups)
  • Maple Syrup (3 tbsp.)
  • Chia Seed (2 tbsp.)

The Crust...

  • Gluten Free Oats (1 cup)
  • Raw Almonds (1 cup)
  • Medjool Dates (8 dates)
  • Sea Salt (dash)

And the amazing Topping!

  • Maple Syrup (2 tbsp.)
  • Dairy Free Butter (2 tbsp.)
  • Gluten Free Oats (1/4 cup)
  • Pecans (2 tbsp.)

Filling first…


Bring your chopped strawberries and rhubarb along with the maple syrup and a couple of tablespoons of filtered water to a light boil. Allow everything to cook for about 15 minutes and then add the chia seeds. Continue to simmer on low as the mixture thickens.
DSC_0011 (2).jpg

Meanwhile I made the crust!


Grab your favorite food processor and add the almonds, oats, pitted dates, salt and coconut oil to the bowl.
DSC_0002 (2).jpg

Process…


until the mixture is fine and well combined. If it’s too dry add a bit more oil. Firmly press the crust mixture into tart or baking pans. I used both a spring form pan and tarts! Bake at 350 for about 12 minutes. Watch closely this will burn easily, I found out the hard way!
DSC_0007 (2).jpg

While the tarts were in the oven…


I made the topping! First chopping the pecans, and then combining them with all of the topping ingredients.
DSC_0015 (2k).jpg

Spoon the filling into…


the baked tarts and generously top with super topping! Back into the oven until everything is bubbly and the topping is golden! 15-20 minutes should do it.
DSC_0018 (2p).jpg

Voila! Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp!

DSC_0034 (2).jpg


This is a wonderful summer treat the family will love! I hope you’ll try it. Topped with a dash of coconut yogurt or your favorite n-ice cream, what a hit! Mr. Bird was chirping a happy tune tonight!


Thanks for stopping by to enjoy another great week of Fruits and Veggies Monday!


loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Whether its a fruit or a vegetable and I know its a vegetable I dont care I love Rhubarb and I would love those tarts :)

Thanks @tattoodjay, love your kind words! I know, it's funny to know it's a vegetable because I always associate it with fruits, lol Fun stuff! Do you have a favorite rhubarb recipe? :)

Rhubarb is one thing my wife cant have these days so I haven't cooked with it for ages now,, but I did used to make a nice Rhubarb Crumble I forget what I used to put in it I don't have a written recipe I just wing it LOL

Mrs Bird, this looks amazing, Mr Bird is a very lucky man indeed! I just love Rhubarb but we hardly ever see that in the green grocers, I must really try to grow it. Desserts and dates are very popular this week on FAVM ;)
Wish you lived near me so I could taste all your delicious and healthy treats! We would have such fun in the kitchen ;);)

Oooooo! How I've missed out on the weekly @birdsinparadise fix! Your recipes are always a feast for the eyes .... and the stomach. I love that you've done a recipe with rhubarb. It is such an "old fashioned" plant so few people get to enjoy it

lol You're too sweet, thank you @buckaroo! Do you enjoy rhubarb? I have such fond memories of it, I can picture it in my grandmothers garden, giant plants! So beautiful and rich! Glad to see you! Thanks for stopping by, I hope all is well in your neck of the woods :)

Congratulations @birdsinparadise! This post was selected by the Power House Creatives as today's Rally Upvote Post :)

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our FB Page and Twitter feed.

PHC-Footer-05.gif

I have to honestly say I am both thankful and honored! This was a fun dessert to make, I hope everyone will enjoy it :) Blessings!

Absolutely mind blowing my Dear Mrs.Bird! Delicious, loaded with superfoods and beautiful. Well done again! 🍓😍🍓
1 Collage.jpg

You are so amazing dear Lena! You always know what to say to bring a smile :) Hope all is well with you my friend! Looks like another great week of fruits and veggies!

I do love a good crumble topping! Pecans always set it off so nicely. As always, Mr. Bird is indeed a lucky man! Rhubarb is something I don't think I've ever seen at the farmers market here, but I know I have grabbed some from the grocery store. I still have plenty of strawberries frozen up from our picking endeavors to make some delicious tarts like this. I think we are going to venture down for one last stop at the u-pick farm for some of the last of the seasons peaches. So sad it is already coming to an end, but I'm going to try to finish off filling up the freezer. At least apple season is really just around the corner... ;)

You have a fabulous farmers market and u-pick venue! I did try a peach from the market the other day, just knowing it wouldn't be good but I was pleasantly surprised!!! It made me so happy, I love good peaches! I wanted to make something with them but they didn't last long enough, lol I look forward to seeing your tarts!! Thank you sweet friend :)

Yay, glad you got some good ones! I was telling @fionasfavourites on discord that the BF ate about 10 fresh peaches while we were picking the other day! Definitely the best of the season. I've got a few things made so far, but still working through them. Perhaps today will be baking day. :)

Fresh peaches are just the best. I'm right there with you, @birdsinparadise: mine wouldn't have got as far as the kitchen either!! :D

My first time knowing rhubarb. Not sure whether do we have it here. And the tarts look lovey, definitely yummy!

Where are you from? I know it's grown all over the United States but not sure about the rest of our vast world! It's pretty hardy! :) Glad you enjoyed!

This looks so good... I have to make this. Hopefully it turns out as good as yours.

Well thank you @bethvalverde! Taste the rhubarb/strawberry mixture to find the perfect sweet, then you can't go wrong! I hope you enjoy:)

That looks absolutely amazing!

Thank you @abh1234! I'm so glad you stopped by! I loved sharing with everyone! :) Hope all is going well in your neck of the woods!

Wow! That's some dessert.
In the place I grew up people used ruibarbo (Rhubarb) only for medicinal purposes, in concuctions that were not yummy at all.
This is sa fantastic and helthy recipe you put together here, after all ruibarbo is good for the stomach. Perfect combination

Wow! I hadn't looked at the medical applications! I'll have to check that out. Needless to say I guess it wouldn't be too appetizing! You'll have to try it with berries some time...I know you'll enjoy it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67