How to use the whole beet? Zero Waste Recipe! lebanese style stuffed 'beet leaves' + Beet fritters

If you like Middle Eastern Food you would of surely tried the awesome dish Warak Arish. Traditionally its stuffed wrapped grape vine leaves. The traditional Lebanese recipe is made with white rice and lamb or beef and served with yogurt. Obviously my version is veganized and well I switched the Grape leaves for Beet Leaves and the rice to red, because I like my food with color :)

beetcover.jpg

It's so obvious now but I honestly didn't know you could actually eat the beet leaves until I saw someone here on steemit use them a few months ago, I think it was @canadianrenegade but for the life of me could not find the original post. I found it so tantalizing that I could get so much out of one beetroot. I had to buy one even though my partner hates them! Okay so they didn't eat the raw pieces in the salad but stuffed leaves and frittes were gobbled down, no complaints, in fact they loved them!

beet10.jpg

First I made the filling for the beet leaves, staying as true as I could to the traditional recipe:

  • Red Rice (Or any rice you like)
  • Cherry Tomatoes
  • Fresh Italian Parsley ( I used dried)
  • Lemon, Freshly Squeezed
  • Dash Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Dried Mint (I didn't have any so I used fresh basil instead)
  • Pinch of Salt of choice
  • Pinch of ground black pepper

beet11.jpg

Honestly just the rice without the stuffing is a tasty meal in it self! I'm craving it a lot at the moment, great for a lunch box!

So in the tradition recipe the vine leaves get cooked but by using beet leaves instead requires no extra effect, just rolling the leaves and it's ready to go!

beetcake.jpg

Now it's time to use the stems of the beet leaves for this I decided to create fritters. Mainly because I had some left over gluten free oat bread that was going a bit hard and I just didn't want to see it go to waste. You can definitely use something else like chickpeas or any kind of beans.

beetgrind.jpg

I used

+ Oat Bread
+ Carrots
+ Spring Onion
+ Salt of Choice
+ Chia Egg
+ Beet stems

beet.jpg

Everything was blitzed in the food processor and then shaped into small fritters and lightly fried in some good quality oil. If you've ever tried fried bread before you will know that these fritter had a very tasty moreish flavor, but didn't feel quite as unhealthy as just frying bread because of all the delicious vegetables in there.

Also lets not forget the point of this whole recipe was because I was actually using the raw beetroot for my lovely fresh garden salad (made with my own home grown leaves) and the edible Japanese flowers, unfortunately spring is fading fast here and these are the last few flowers left.

beet7.jpg

I'm entering this recipe in to @lensveganliving awesome contest #fruitsandveggiesmonday, if you don't already know about it, don't hesitate to click on the links and find out more!

🥑 🍎🥝 🍉 🍇 🍐🍓🍈🍋🍑 🍍🍊🍌🍏

For more health, nutrition, spirituality + more @celestialcow....

celestialcowlong.jpg

switching to a plant based diet 🌱 can change your life and change the world
✌️Join the food revolution now

All images are created by @celestialcow

Thanks for reading

ecotrainbanner.png

Hcwg0lg - Imgur.gif

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

Wow. I've never heard of a chia egg before. Any background on that? Where to get one?

really easy to make it yourself, that's how i do it, just buy chia seeds, use approx 1tbsp of chia seeds in a cup or small bowl add 2/3 tbsp of filtered of bottled water, put in fridge for 5 minutes.... there you have it, one chia egg. Cheap, healthy, simple, no animals involved and works equally as well, can use in cakes and everything! :)

Wait...you make it! I'm facepalming right now. Of course. ^_^ thanks for the chia egg recipe. Now I know.

haha yes! sorry I didn't explain it in the post, it's just a lot of people know of it already and when they don't they are all surprised, like i was the first time! whenever in doubt ask google ;)

I love Arabic food and red rice, so this is definitely something for me. Well done my Dear 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓
1 Collage.jpg

I love the freshness of the recipe! I have made fritters with beet root begore but never with the stems - such a great idea! Will have to find some leaves and give this a try!

Oh yes! Another recipe I would gladly devour! I love using the whole beet, as well. I feel cheated if I don't get the tops. ;) I just got my first kohlrabi of the year at the farmers market and included the greens in my dish, too. Waste not, want not, for sure!

Great tips and beautiful photos! I love the sound of those fritters, and I was just thinking how appealing pink food is to 'girly girls'... they'd be a good one for younger children as well as adults!

What a beautiful plate and it sounds so incredibly scrumptious. Such a recipe and wonderful post.

This looks amazing!! I'm off to sow some beetroot seeds right now love this no waste idea 🙂

Ohh my goodness!!! That's really awesome! Thanknyou so much for sharing this idea, because I never knew what to do with the leaves and stalk of the beets.I usually cook a huge pot of veggie stock from every left overs and parts of veggies that I don't use, but I've never thought of this. I'm definitely going to do it!! Thanks again 🤗

YES you can put the tops in soup! Yum...

In Eastern Europe they use pickled cabbage / vine / patience dock leaves instead of beet. I imagine it will taste pretty good with beef also. ;0)

YES!!!!! I have been saying this for years. Why the hell wpuld you chuck beetroot tops!!! They are delicious.. I made a brown rice pilaf thing last night with sauteed spring onions, beetroot tops, garlic tops, and preserved lemon and it was a delicious chuck together meal from the garden. I grow some rows more for the tops than the bottoms! And the woody stems when they are older I saute like beans.

Great recipe!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95