Fruits and Veggies Monday - Asinan Bogor and Jicama

Saleum Steemians👐

image
Asinan Bogor or fruits and Veggies salad from Bogor


My Brother in Law came from bike's touring to Puncak, West Java, Indonesia last saturday. He brought us Roasted Macaroni and Veggie-Fruit's Salad or Asinan Bogor. One of the famous foods from Bogor. It contains of Fruit like papaya, veggies like mung bean sprouts, cabbage, mustard's leaves pickles, cucumber and jicama or mexican turnip.

This one is a bit different from something that we use to eat from the travelling seller around the neighborhood which contains only veggies. What makes it different was the dressing or soup they add. But both of them add fried peanuts.

image
this one from the travelling seller in Pamulang Estat


How's the taste? Because the soup made of cayenne peppers and vinegar (sugar palm sap vinegar) and sugar palm sugar, it is hot, fresh and sweet too. The best choice for a sunny day😉

Jicama or Mexican Turnip aka Bengkoang

image
image


Its scientific name is pachyrhizus erosus, native to Mexico. Raw Jicama or Singkamas in Philippines, Bengkoang in Indonesia and Ubi Sengkuang in Malay. If the Filipino uses this in lumpia, we eat the raw jicama in Salads and Rujak. I think the filipino has so many jicama' recipes because it was the first place where the Spaniards spread cultivation from mexico and then from Philippines to other Asia countries. Find more information about it here.

Jicama also has high dietary fiber, sweet flavor and Vitamin C. So, not only edible, this roots also widely use as skin care or cosmetic especially for whitening.

image
one of the famous mosquito repellent lotion in our country also use bengkoang extract


This is my entry for the #fruitsandveggiesmonday by @lenasveganliving this week

Thanks For your Support🌾🌵

Sort:  

Hi.@dipoabasch, We have selected your post for the The Best Post. contest for your creativity. Magazeemit rewards your creativity with 1000 SP. for more details enter the and activate you participation link


There you are stalker.. hahahaha, you did it again and I love it. I like it so much when you post something about fruits you know and foods that you like (heeyy.. I eat all the rest of Asinan from the fridge, don't look for it anymore..LOL) so happy to know you're still stalking me on Steemit.

Can you make it for me later😉 I think you know how.. because you like it too.. and be careful.. I'm a nice stalker Garlic😊

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I love jicama! I haven't had it in a while, but I think I may need to change that after this reminder of how good it is! :)

I think no woman doesn't loves jicama @plantstoplanks 😉 my wife keep it uneaten to plants it in our garden😆 but my father refused that idea😂 no more vines he said.

Nice @dioabasch. What kind of bike tour did your brother in law come from? Motorcycle or bicycle? We have huge bike runs here that are a bunch of motorcycles riding through different towns and is pretty cool to witness. We also have bicycle tours, like races and stuff. Ive never been in one but would bet they are pretty cool as well.

I love your dish. It looks so interesting and good. I’d definitely like to have a seat at your dinner table so I could try all of your customary dishes. Great post friend.

Hello @puravidaville, thank you for stopping by 😉 it's a bicycle tour, he has joined a club and they have that kind of tour to other provinces once a month.

I'd love to have you and your husband at our table for lunch and diner. If My wife couldn't make anything good to eat, we can make a call to order from other food's seller or just wait for the next travelling food sellers coming 😃

Such a kind invitation! We really can’t wait to try some of the Indonesian cuisines. There are so many fruits that we haven’t even heard of there so it’ll be exciting to taste those as well.

My husband and I love to ride our bicycles. I bet bicycle tours are pretty fun.

My husband and I love to ride our bicycles. I bet bicycle tours are pretty fun.

My brother in law would love to hear this 😉 I can't ride bicycle anymore due to the hamstring injury. So, when will you come to Indonesia?

We are planning to be there very soon 😉

I love flavorful exotic dishes like this and you and your wife have always something unique I never tried before. It truly must be delicious and I would love to try it someday 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you @lenasveganliving 😊 we're lucky for living in a tropical country with so many unique recipes.. I don't think I've known all the foods from Java Island though and I wish that You'll like it when you try it later.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60648.94
ETH 2906.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60