Ginger & Garlic spread w/ buckwheat-teff flatbread

in #fruitsandveggiesmonday6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone,

It's been a while since I shared a recipe, but this is one I simply love, and can't keep to myself. It's inspired by my favourite cuisines of all, Indian food.

But first I have to share some info that can help others who are struggling with digestive issues.

For the past months I am having dizzy-spells and I am finally admitting the culprit...coffee.

I'm not much of a coffee drinker for health reasons, but I must confess that I have fallen off the health wagon and I have been enjoying many iced coffees this summer, although I know I shouldn't due to intestinal malabsorption caused by celiac disease.

So after 3 years of adapting to a gluten-free diet as a vegan, and just when I thought I got it all right, I have become iron deficient!

Did you know that caffeine can decrease iron absorption by 50%!

Anyway, I'm eating super healthy again and doing a liver - kidney cleanse. AND I have an entry for @lenasveganliving 's FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY

I'm so excited about this new spread with my go-to anti-inflammatory and immune boosting foods: ginger, turmeric and garlic. If you love VERY spicy foods, then this is for you!

Buckwheat and teff have become staples in my kitchen, especially for my pizza crust!

Only for the brave, here are the ingredients for the ginger/garlic spread:

1/2 cup fresh garlic cloves
1/2 cup fresh ginger, peeled
1 turmeric root
1 tsp salt, celtic or himalayan
1 tsp black pepper
1 tsp apple cider vinegar

  • blend all the ingredients with a hand blender or Vitamix until smooth.

Flatbread:
2 cups of buckwheat flour
1 cup teff
1 tsp salt, celtic or himalayan
1 cup water, make sure the batter is not too liquid

  • spread on a baking tray covered with parchment paper and bake for 20 minutes until brown on both sides.

You can use this spread in as a condiment in your hot or cold veggie soups as well.

Buon appetito!
Mirella

Sort:  

Very tasty and super healthy duo my Dear, definitely something I would love to try. I hope you get better soon 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you, Dear Lena. I'll stay focused on fresh fruits and veggies and soon recover from this humbling fall!

that looks super delish - I quite like teff and have used it in raw food slices before. Kinda nutty.

I haven't eaten it raw yet. How do you make the slices?

that looks really delicious.

It is very delish! Let me know if you try it.

yes I will.

Very cool recipe @mirella. I, personally, love garlic and spicy everything so this seems right up my alley. Coincidentally, I also do not eat gluten for digestive reasons.…

What kind of detox or cleanse are doing? I’m researching a few so can detox my gut as well. Thanks for sharing!

Thanks @puravidaville! Let me know if it's spicy enough! I think all the bad bugs escaped my body at the site of this explosive mixture :)

My cleanse is not too demanding for the phase of low discipline I'm going through. I start my mornings with a glass of water and apple cider vinegar and 1 tsp of triphala powder in a glass of water mixed with fresh lemon juice.

I'm taking digestive bitters tincture and eating lots of fruits, mostly pineapple and blueberries. I'm juicing onion LOL....and mixing it with juiced greens and plenty of turmeric.

My goal is to heal my small intestine, which is very difficult. Despite all my efforts in the past years nothing has worked, and I still don't produce enzymes...can't digest starches, complex carbs...etc. Hence my lack of motivation lately...

But the bitters should do it. Fingers crossed!

That’s real dedication and you should be proud of yourself for getting this far on your healing journey @mirella. I know how frustrating it can be to think you’re doing everything right and yet your body is still ill. I hope this detox works for you and makes a good foundation for your gut to heal. When I try your garlic, ginger, etc cleanse I’ll definitely let you know if it’s too spicy, although, that’s difficult to achieve for me- I love spice :)

Nothing is too spicy not even ''la bomba'' from Calabria :) ...a hot pepper sauce from southern Italy.
Thanks for your kind words @puravidaville. Some healing journeys are more challenging but there must be reason for that. Maybe we still need to understand more about deep healing processes.

For sure, every step has value for us. I’m curious about la bomba sauce now 🤔. Maybe I’ll check amazon for that :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-03T02:04:51
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 13.00/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

We all fall off the wagon at some point @mirella. Well done on the cleanse. It is amazing! We have recently been able to get teff flour in South Africa but I haven't baked with it (or tasted it yet) What is it like? I love the tumeric spread on the flatbread. Apart from anti-inflammatory it has all sorts of amazing properties. Maybe tag #naturalmedicine? I think they'll appreciate your input

Thanks for the support @buckaroo :)

I love cooking with teff. It adds a nutty flavor to your dishes and it is very versatile. I have used it to make cookies, pancakes, cakes, flatbread. It's perfect mixed with buckwheat.

I don't like the taste of buckwheat so I usually add tahini and nutritional yeast to the batter. But I discovered that teff also makes the flavor more palatable.

And at the same time buckwheat makes teff less crumbly. I'm playing around with buckwheat/teff ratio for different textures and levels of crunchiness.

I added the tag. Thanks for suggesting it!

My pleasure @mirella! And thanks for the explanation. I'm keen to try it. Nutty sounds yummy. Except for buckwheat pancakes I also don't like the taste. I usually mix chickpea flour with my buckwheat goodies. But I'm going to get some teff. My goats eat the teff bales (under duress) so it's rather wierd thinking of it in a flour-for-human context!

The teff I buy at my local store is not ground into flour, but simply it's packaged in it's tiny intact beauty. I'm glad teff is a complete protein and I can eat it will zero side effects. A true gift from nature!
Yes, I agree ...yuk to buckwheat pancakes! Chickpea flour is wonderful to add to recipes, but very hard on my digestion. :(
There is an Italian recipe from Tuscany and Liguria called 'cecina' that uses chickpea flour. It's so yummy!

Congratulations @mirella! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70845.83
ETH 3807.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42