FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY{} COCONUT ICE CREAM

Good Morning, #fruitsandveggiesmonday chefs, it's that time again. I do love #favm, it is a learning experience in different vegan food creations. @lenasveganliving, our creator, has taken the competition to a new level with the added category awards. Her creativity is boundless. Her capable assistant/host, @plantstoplanks, is right there with her every step of the way.

The competition motivates me to find or create simple but delicious vegan dishes. This week I decided to make some non-dairy ice cream. I've made ice cream before but it was made with coconut milk straight from the can. When I made whipped coconut cream last week, I figured that I could use the whipped coconut cream to make ice cream.

Ice Cream cover-1.jpg

I found a recipe for making sweetened condensed coconut milk which I figured would add some sweetness and creaminess to the ice cream. The ice cream that I've made before would become icy upon freezing. I know that it won't be creamy like dairy ice cream with all that fat, chemicals, and preservatives, but it should be good.

Here is the recipe for the sweetened condensed coconut milk.


https://www.pinterest.com/pin/131659989092910740/

Instead of honey or maple syrup, I used coconut sugar which made it a little dark like caramel.
Sweetened Coconut Milk.jpg

For the ice cream I used the sweetened condensed coconut milk, coconut cream, maple syrup, creamed coconut, and vanilla extract. I whipped the coconut cream first then combined everything else and whipped until it was fluffy and poured it into the ice cream maker. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer with the wire whip to make the ice cream mixture and my Cuisinart Ice Cream maker to freeze the ice cream.

Ice Cream-1.jpg

This is the whipped coconut cream before I added the other ingredients.

20190602_193309.jpg

Pour ice cream mixture into the ice cream maker.

20190602_200126.jpg

This is the ice cream after 25 minutes in the ice cream maker.
Ice Cream-4.jpg

Ice Cream-5.jpg

This is the ice cream ready to be stored in the freezer. I let it freeze for about 1-1/2 hours before I starting scooping it up to serve.

Ice Cream-6.jpg

Ice Cream cover2-1.jpg

The ice cream came out very good. With the creamed coconut it had little bits of coconut flakes in the ice cream. Think I will try making some chocolate ice cream next week.

Until then, Bon Appetite!!!

Paleotwist Logo.jfif

Sort:  

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOUR AWARD 🥑😊🍓
maxresdefault.png

Looks so good and i know taste sooo delicious too. I would love to have one now if i can!
Thanks for the lovely recipe

@sherylneil, it does taste really good. The coconut kicks the flavor and taste up to another level.

Uuh as a coconut lover, can how not love it?

Posted using Partiko Android

Me too, I love coconut. I use coconut milk, cream, sugar, shredded, flaked, or just raw out of the shell.

Yum! I can see that condensed coconut milk being delicious for a number of things, but especially in this ice cream! I've had the problem of some mixtures coming out icy, as well, but I don't have an ice cream maker so it was just made straight in the freezer. This sounds like it turned out nice and creamy!

@plantstoplanks, it did come out creamy but the next day I had to let it sit out for about 15 or 20 minutes. Hubby said it is the best ice cream yet.

😋… drool all over my shirt. This is fantastic! Great job @paleotwist !


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98