FRUITSANDVEGGIESMONDAY[]CANDIED PECANS AND WALNUTS

Good Morning #fruitsandveggiesmonday community, I hope all is well with everyone. Mondays are rolling around pretty fast now. But thanks to @lenasveganliving we have the opportunity to display our vegan recipes and thanks to our lovely host @plantstoplanks.

I seem to be on a sweet kick this week. I baked the Almond Flour Chocolate Cake, Paleo Maple Walnut Bread, and then I made these candied pecans and walnuts. I make the candied walnuts for my husband, since walnuts are his favorite nuts. The candied pecans are my son-in-laws favorite sweet snack. He was buying a container of the candied pecans from a store near his home and paying $8 for only 7 oz. My batch comes out to be about 16 oz. Heaven only knows what they used for a sweetener. My candied pecans/walnuts are sweetened with coconut sugar.

Pecans.jpg

Ingredients:
1 cup coconut sugar
1 teaspoon of cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon of sea salt
2 tablespoons of water
1 1/2 -2 cups of pecans or walnuts
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
1 teaspoon of ghee (optional)

Ingridients.jpg

Instructions:
Add the coconut sugar, cinnamon, salt, and water to pan. Stir the mixture until the sugar dissolves and it comes to a gentle boil. Let it boil for approximately 3 minutes. Add the pecans/walnuts and cook for another 2 minutes until the pecans/walnuts are coated with the syrup mixture. Remove pan from the heat, add the vanilla extract and the ghee and stir to evenly coat nuts. Immediately pour nut mixture onto a piece of parchment paper to cool. When cooled, break candied nuts into smaller clusters and store in a airtight container.

Pan.jpg

Pan 2.jpg

Nuta.jpg

Walnut.jpg

These candied nuts are a good healthy snack that will satisfy any sweet tooth.
Enjoy!!!!

Walnuts 2.jpg

Paleotwist Logo.jfif

Sort:  

Congratulations @paleotwist! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 90 posts. Your next target is to reach 100 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

It is truly a great idea to make homemade candied nuts with coconut sugar instead. The store bought are not only pricey, but also made with unhealthy refined sugar. Although, I wish you could remove the gee from your recipe, since that is animal product and against the rules, even of optional. I would suggest using raw coconut oil 🥥😍🥥
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you for the tip @lenasveganliving. I can omit the ghee altogether and use the coconut oil. I thought about the ghee as I was typing the list of ingredients. I do apologize for the error and I will be more careful in the future.

Thank you so much for the understanding and I am happy you like my suggestion 😊

These do look delicious! Though like Lena said coconut oil would be a great totally vegan sub! :)

So true @plantstoplanks, I have to switch between vegan and paleo and remember the differences. I will use coconut oil in my next batch. Thanks for correction.

No worries! I know there are small things like that which are hard to remember sometimes. 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

These are one of my favourite treats but I've never made it, thank you for sharing a healthier recipe @paleotwist :)

You are welcome @lizelle.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86