Fruits & Veggies Monday--Back in Action! {Stuffed Mushrooms & Cooked Cabbage}

Happy Monday my friends! Besides just starting out a fresh new week, there are all kinds of fun things going on this particular Monday. One of my dear friends is celebrating a birthday, @steemitbloggers is transitioning to the new #powerhousecreatives, and @lenasveganliving is back to host the first #fruitsandveggiesmonday of the year! In case you forgot the rules or are new to the challenge, make sure to check out her contest post for all the details and a beautiful shot of yummy fruits!

IMG_20190106_174322538.jpg

Today I'm serving up a pretty simple meal of some stuffed mushrooms and vibrant cooked cabbage. The cabbage was actually a throwback to a post I did for a fruits and veggies entry about a year ago! I hadn't made cabbage like this in a while, so I looked back through my archives for inspiration (original recipe here). So simple, yet so full of flavor and a delicious side dish for a winter meal! The red cabbage and red onion are full of antioxidants and health-promoting fiber and nutrients.

IMG_20190106_103848782.jpg

My local farmers market is still closed until this coming Saturday morning, so I had to resort to the grocery store for most of my veggies this week. I still tried to stick with mostly seasonal ingredients that I would be able to find locally this time of year. Since I have been actively blogging for over a year now it is fun to look and see how I inadvertently gravitate towards similar ingredients year to year, even making very similar dishes without realizing it until I look back at photos or posts from the previous year. I suppose that is a good thing as it means I am sticking with seasonal goods to support my local farming community and reduce my environmental impact!

IMG_20190106_174215459.jpg

To go along with my cabbage, I also found some hearty portabella mushroom caps that I decided to roast and stuff. I use mushrooms often in my winter soups, but hadn't gotten full caps to use like this in a while. I used to HATE mushrooms as a kid, but luckily I have gotten over that aversion (along with many others).

IMG_20190106_143507603_HDR.jpg

I don't really have a recipe for these today since I just tossed some ingredients together. I had a few cups of cooked pinkeye beans in the freezer from the farmers market to pair with millet and greens for the stuffing. This past Friday when I visited my niece I stopped at my sister's Kroger (grocery store) and came upon an awesome sales on some items like millet, amaranth and quinoa flour. I haven't worked with amaranth or quinoa flour in my kitchen before, so I'm excited to see how I can put those to good use!

IMG_20190104_165635756.jpg

The mushrooms I just sprinkled with some ground mustard and lemon pepper seasoning before roasting for about 15 minutes on their own. Then I mixed together the pinkeye beans, cooked millet, chopped up leafy greens, smoked paprika and a few tablespoons of stone ground mustard for the filling. I stuffed the shrooms and cooked for another 10 minutes to finish them off. We drizzled a little bit of hot sauce on top and then enjoyed the meal!

IMG_20190106_174116194.jpg

I only had enough mushrooms for one meal, but we have plenty of the stuffing left to make lunch for today. I think I will cook up potatoes to eat with the cabbage, as well. I've got more meal prep coming up this afternoon for the rest of the week in the form of an acorn squash curry and perhaps some figgy energy bites! Nothing but good stuff going on in the kitchen this week and every week. 😉

So happy to be back with the Monday crew, and I wish you all a healthy week filled with lots of fruits and veggies!!

PHC-Footer-05.gif



Banners by @zord189, @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa


Sort:  

That mushroom.... yumz
But I love mushrooms
Good thing you like it too now hehehe

Yes! I'm so glad I outgrew some of my very childish eating habits. Makes eating much more fun to have lots of variety!

🏆 Hi @plantstoplanks! You have received 0.05 SBD reward for this post from the following subscribers: @ilsaione
Subscribe and increase the reward for @plantstoplanks :) | For investors.

Oh, what a wonderful creation, I love all these ingredients!

That’s cabbage looks beautiful and delish. I’m all about trying the new flours in your kitchen. So looking forward to what you come up with @plantstoplanks :)

I can't believe I hadn't made this cabbage like this in a while. It really is quite tasty this way! I'm pumped to work with the quinoa flour! Gotta find some good ways to incorporate it into my meal prep. :) There may be some failed attempts, but luckily my taste-tester isn't picky, haha!

I just had a couple failures myself. Through those mess ups we learn so so much. I’m sure whatever you come up with, it’ll be great!

Yep, if you're not making a few mistakes here and there it means you're not trying, right? :)

Interesting way to cook mushrooms. I've only enjoyed mushrooms twice in my entire life. Typically, I avoid them because I don't like the texture. I may try this recipe though... even if I dislike the mushrooms, I could enjoy the rest.

Thanks! The texture used to be an issue for me, as well. That's why I think I tend to really enjoy the big meaty ones like these because they seem to be more palatable. Especially when you stuff them with all kinds of goodies, then they just blend right in anyway. ;)

looks great, somethin I have never tried before is filled mushrooms @plantstoplanks

Thanks @claudiaz! You should definitely give them a try--so many options for fillings! :)

Just promised @proanima I'd be there for tea and that yummy cake....could I maybe start at you for this delicious meal? You inspire me with your recipes @plantstoplanks. Love the close up veggie shots!

If only we could all teleport to get together for one big, delicious meal every now and then!!

I know you have been always fateful to your local farmers Katie and I also know that it really pays off. They really have the most fresh produce I ever seen and great variety as well. However, you managed to prepared delicious meal even when they are closed. Those stuffed mushrooms looks spectacular. Great shots too 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
5jmvkoxih6.jpg

I can't complain as even without the market there are plenty of stores around with lots of produce. I'm just spoiled now, haha! They have already started hyping up the return of the market this coming weekend, though, so I'm trying to wait patiently to get back to my usual routine. Happy to have FAV back for the year, too!

Funny you should comment on the repeat meals/ingredients - I have noticed that, too. With my Sunday Supper menus LOL. I think it's as much about the weather as it is about the seasonal ingredients...

Oh yes, the weather definitely impacts what I am in the mood for. Though it was warm and sunny the past few days here, and I think last year we had snow and ice around the same time. 🤷‍♀️

Well damn that looks lovely and healthy! Makes my ham sandwich look pretty miserable next to me as I wait impatiently for my lunch break haha!

First rule of Steemit: don't go through food posts hungry. 🤣 I'm sipping some lemon water since I just got up, but I'm sure after a bit of scrolling I'll be running for the kitchen to fix breakfast after working up a solid appetite!

Haha I will remember that rule next time I browse the food section of #powerhousecreatives

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87