You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Khmerican Family Abroad | #7 🌳 A Forgotten Noni Empire 🍈

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

Thanks for posting through TravelFeed.io! You have received a larger upvote from us. We hope to see you soon on TravelFeed.io!
Posting through TravelFeed.io also makes your post eligible to participate in the travel writing contest by @invisusmundi where you can earn up to 100 STEEM! Read the contest announcement for more information on how to participate.

We are continuously working on improving TravelFeed, recently we introduced EasySignUp and EasyLogin, our first step to make TravelFeed ready for mass adoption.


Learn more about TravelFeed by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Sort:  

Great story about your family's scrappy little noni monopoly 👏 but wow, @justinparke, I've now filed noni (especially noni juice) away as something to *avoid*. 😅

>a fruit whose fermented juice tastes a bit like blue cheese
Okay, that sounds interesting, I'll definitely have to try this at least once

>it's actually a cross between blue cheese, pineapple and vinegar
Uh.. never mind.

Well, yeah it's not for everyone. Don't knock it til you try it. I would dare say it's pleasant chilled with a hint of palm sugar.

🤔 I know it’s not an apples to apples comparison, but do you think someone who likes kombucha might be a fan?

     Well, to my knowledge, I hear kombucha is a bit beer-like, and has very small amounts of alcohol. I am strictly Ital, so I have never tried it because of this reason. However, I think kombucha is very similar to another drink we used to make called "ginger bug", a lactofermentation simliar to kimchi or sauerkraut.

     I think if you have alkaline fruits and vegetables, or Caribbean style bitter drinks, you might like it. All in all, I think it's hit and miss. We used to give out free shots to customers in our restaurant, because most people have never heard of it. I would say from giving it to the random masses chilled and sweetened with a bit of palm sugar, we received about a 50/50 ratio of those who like versus hate it. If you're in the USA you can probably buy a liter of noni for between $20 and $40 form a health food store or an Asian market.

Nice - thanks for the detailed response! You've convinced me to give noni juice a chance 😅

By the way, I could have SWORN I upvoted your post already, but Esteem isn't showing that I did! Upvoting now!

Give it a try, although the stuff from the stores in the USA is pasteurized, so it's a bit dead, but the only way you're gonna get your hands on fresh juice would be from Florida perhaps, but I can't honestly say I've ever seen or heard of anyone growing it there; I just figure the climate is possible.

     Wow! Thanks again Travelfeed.io ! Thank you @for91days for your curation. I made the mistake of not using the Travelfeed Editor to post this one, thinking it was only loosely travel-related. Anyways, the formatting didn't turn out to nice when viewed on the Travelfeed.io site. I am now using a lot markdown in my posts, and I find a post looks good when made in Travelfeed, it always looks good on Steemit, but not always vice-versa. On Partiko all markdown code doesn't work and the post looks like a hot mess.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64215.81
ETH 3150.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86