FRUITS & VEGGIES MONDAY #27: My Homemade Healthy "Chip Shop" Curry Sauce!


Does the MSG-filled curry sauce from the chippy put a downer on your dinner? Make you feel guilty and bloated?  But did you know curry sauce is actually made from plants and doesn't have to be a guilty pleasure?  Hooray for fruits and veggies!  My recipe tastes exactly like the curry sauce we know and love, yet nutritious and safe even for infants to eat.  Here we're using lovely apples, onions, garlic, lemon, tomato, spices.  All good.  Plus you can use any type of flour, it's really just to thicken the sauce.


My 2 year-old son LOVES curry, but I'd never give him that poison from the chippy.  Thankfully homemade sauce is very easy and means I can get extra nutrition into him as well as giving him tastes he enjoys.  Win win guys!  I urge you to try it and hope you (and your little 'uns) enjoy it too!  


I also recommend making your own chips from organic potatoes and roasting them in the oven with a little coconut oil or flax oil (I find these oils make the best chips) because 1. you know the quality of potatoes you're eating, and 2. deep-fried chips in cheap processed veg oil are not healthy at all.  Maybe tempting to stop by the chippy on your way home from work, but please try to resist!


Ingredients (I recommend all organic):


2 x apples (sweet ones such as gala)

2 x onions

1 bulb garlic

1 tblsp coconut oil (or other healthy oil)

1/2 fresh lemon (juice)

2 tblsp tomato puree

2 tblsp unbleached flour

2 tblsp curry powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp black pepper

1 tsp unrefined salt

1 pint water


Directions:


Peel and finely dice the onions, apples and garlic.  



Melt the oil in a saucepan and add the veggies.  Saute for 5-10 minutes on low heat until softened.



Remove from the heat and add the tomato puree, flour, curry powder, cinnamon, salt, pepper and mix thoroughly.



Squeeze half a fresh lemon and stir in.



Pour in 1 pint of fresh water and return to a moderate heat. Simmer for 5-10 minutes until thickened.

(I use rainwater that I collect and filter, as tap water usually contains a cocktail of chemicals we don't want inside us!)



Leave bitty or make smooth with a stick blender, whichever you prefer!



Now all you need to do is peel some spuds, roast them in the oven, steam some lovely fresh veggies, and cover everything with your homemade curry sauce!  Healthy dinner all round, hooray!



Any curry sauce left over from your dinner can be portioned up into small jars and frozen.  I always keep mustard, pesto and coconut oil jars for this purpose.



Many thanks to @lenasveganliving   for continuing to host this wonderful contest, and thanks also to the   sponsors, judges and supporters!  For details how to join in, see here
 

For more health information, tips, recipes (vegan/vegetarian), crafts, and more, please follow me!
 

To find out what my "Make It Healthy Project" is all about, and how you can be involved in growing this project, please click here

Initiated by...

("5 Cs" shared with kind permission of @kiwideb)


Sort:  

i'm liked FRUITS & VEGGIES.please invite me eaten our Chip Shop.

I know i should not be looking at this because it keeps making me hungry.

It's healthy so it's fine @vanzyl! Eat and enjoy :-)

I absolutely love curry and I always make my own and what a coincidence that last week i was at my daughter making my famous curry lentil.

Nevertheless, I totally love your take on curry sauce recipe.........I can totally taste it and smell it all the way here. Lots of people know have an issue with curry like smelling hose, but I love it, lol.

Thnak you so much Dear Joanna for sharing this super healthy and delicious creation with us 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

Thanks Lena! I love all kinds of curries, I think I could eat them every day for the rest of my life and not get bored haha!

I can totally relate Joanna, lol......always a pleasure my Dear 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU ! A WELL-EARNED AWARD!
4.png

Oooh this is totally unexpected! Thanks so much, I'm thrilled! :-) :-)

Always a pleasure Dear Joanna 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇

Omg looks so good! I'm always looking for new vegan sauce recipes since I don't really know how to make many at home. I usually just stick with store bought ones but I definitely wanna change that and switch to home made ones! :)

Nothing beats home-made! I think most store-bought sauces contain artificial ingredients and are not good :-( Thankfully they're easy to make... pretty much use any veggies (or combination of veggies & fruit), add some herbs/spices, a little flour to thicken, and that's it! Any flavour you want and bonus of nutrition :-)

I don't think I have ever used apples in a curry sauce before, but I bet it's delicious paired with those spices. And more taters?! #spuddies 🤣

I've tried making curry with all kinds of things, but I find the apples & onions combination makes a curry sauce exactly like you get in chip shops (or at least in UK chippies... maybe you don't have that in Atlanta? Or do you?) I love your #spuddies tag, if I remember to use in in my spud-related posts I will!!! haha!

Oh shoot, I could have used it for my post today! I'm sure I'll be making plenty more taters soon, so I'll have to remember to use it, too. There may be something like a chip shop around somewhere in Atlanta, but I've never come across one. We don't get out much, though, so I'm not the best for knowing what's around. 🤣

I love this one! Very healthy and original! Apples in the curry sauce sounds tasty! 🌺🌸💗

Oh my goodness it's deeeeelicious! Just like chip-shop curry sauce in the UK, but much more nutritious! Thank you @maruharraca :-)

I love how you cook with rain water!

Yeah! I know in some places 'rainwater harvesting' is illegal! Craaazy! But the tap water here in Ireland contains flouride, chlorine, and a million other chemicals, and is reported to be the most carcinogenic in the county of Donegal where I live... eeek! But 5L bottles of water cost 2 euro each, and we get through two of these bottles a day, so it would be very expensive to buy it. Isn't is the craziest thing that it's so difficult to get clean water these days?!

Yummyyyy!!! Thank you so much for sharing this awesome oil-free sauce recipe!! I can't wait to make it at home! Will definitely do it :)

Great! That makes me very happy @plantbasedmiri! I do hope you enjoy it :-)

Well, holy molly, I actually made a recipe just like this a few weeks ago! I have to agree that is a far better alternative to the process crap in the shop.Typically the store bought ones have milk in there too! So we hadn't had a decent curry sauce in ages. These are just delish though.

I simply cant believe I have found another person from Ireland on here! Fantastic, you have a new follower. Keep up the great work @woman-onthe-wing! When I saw healthy living and Donegal I actually thought of Natashas for a sec. But its OK there can be more than one healthy person in Donegal LOL.

I hope there's many healthy people in Donegal haha! Though I was at a local wholefoods store this week and to my puzzlement he only stocks white flour, white pasta, etc.. not exactly 'whole' foods now is it?! If I had money to open my own wholefoods store I certainly would!

I'm so happy to hear you make your own curry sauce too :-) It's pretty quick and easy isn't it, and yuuuummmy compared to that questionable stuff they put in jars! Speaking of milk in products, my mother (in England) commented recently that she noticed some wines are putting milk and egg in now. I'm so totally confused why wine would contain those ingredients??? So it seems we have to check absolutely EVERYTHING we buy these days! Shocking!

Whereabouts in Ireland are you? It's always good meeting friendly others :-)

Its so true, there is milk in stuff that has no logical reason for it! I just cant figure it out. I would love to open a Vegan cafe and store here, I even spoke to enterprise board in Kildare about it. I wasn't in a position then to put a huge amount of money on the table so they were not really interested in the idea.

We are in Kildare

Ah, that's a county I've not visited yet! We've lived here 5 years, the first 2 in Clifden, Co Galway and the last 3 in Donegal. What a beautiful country! And I always felt more at home with the Irish people than my own English folk!

Perhaps one day you'll get your deam of a Vegan cafe and store... that sounds great! We need more and more of those kind of things, there's far too many 'bad' cafes and stores for sure.

Good luck on the radio tomorrow by the way... I am a little nervous myself! :-)

Love Clifden, such a beautiful part of the world, plenty of deserted beaches there down past the golf course. We actually, until very recently holidayed there! We used to rent out the colonels house on lough fadda, just past the Adragh hotel. Truly stunning around there. Oh are you on too? How mad is that! Yep I was just talking to pennsif there a few min ago. Should be good, I just hope I don't make a tit of myself! LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69718.75
ETH 3706.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.26