Almost beyond measuresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fullmoon6 years ago (edited)

This one is from when times were much better and life was almost worth living...

architecture-1521106_640.jpg

I wanted to be saved beyond any measure, and I didn’t need anyone to twist my arm about this; so I ran a scan under the hot sun and grew a tan to match my smile with teeth thrown into it and a beard that was very long.

A private light tuning into the morning sun gave a wave and told me to be free.

I gently waved back with my hand that was something else beside me just then and squaring off to the sun to say that I was not averse to that kind of thing, even though I was outside looking in and trying not to say anything.

The weeds of course were growing huge so I ran my hand over them to see if I could feel anything different until I couldn’t feel anything at all.

I saw the children in the war machine, in harm’s way. I saw the chains of death on so many. I heard all of their voices. I was their saviour as I died with them. And now I am the finger that points to the executioner.

A fart coming out fast just then drove me towards Jesus until I didn’t know my name anymore.

Looking behind I could see all the scars and the indelible scribbles I’d made in the dust.

What are our names asked the dead.

I wasn’t growing a beard for nothing I thought and sprayed on the dandruff shampoo to make the voices go away.

All sorts of noises expanded around my expenditure to give me advice that cost no more than a penny of my time so I paid them all to go away and thought about my love, but I couldn’t remember any more what my love looked like.

Many lovers later I still couldn’t remember anything that was worth anything, so I went on holiday and didn’t come back until years later when the food had run out and I was growing low in between my turns where it was raining.

So I turned the radio on and off all night long in the rain until I was much older and my brain waves had turned into simple mush.

When the next fool moon came it was in the extraordinary hours of my fantasy where I was trying to let it all go until I couldn’t help myself anymore and just had to pursue the mood music to help me through for just a little while.

There were all sorts of noises coming from under the bed where the ghouls were dying; but it was too hard to see in the blackness so I rolled another cigarette and burnt the edge of midnight into my brain until there was no way home anymore; and that’s when they came for me.

I ran up the flag to escape but they pulled me down and that was the end of me.

The cell door was left open for an ogre to come and threaten me as if I had done something wrong and all the blame was mine. I denied it of course all the way for my alibi to kick in and them to let me go, which they did with a sort of curse sideways out of their heads.

Battered and bruised I left that place but took with me their hurting and carried it down the long years where I just couldn’t let it go.

And then one day it turned into dust and I was able to move on with my life but I never forgot the noise of that deep in my mind where the evil laughed at me almost beyond measure.

Image from Pixabay

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31