ADSactly Fun - GDP-AAARGH

in #fun6 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART--143234834.jpg

source

I sat slumped in my chair as the woman on the little mini stage at the front of the room breathlessly talked about Our Data and occasionally flicked her little pointer excitedly to advance her powerpoint slideshow.

I looked about the other poor souls who had been bundled off to the mandatory GDPR training by their respective workplaces. There were not that many, about ten of us. Everyone seemed to be engrossed in the mindless twaddle the lady up front was spouting.

In fact, everyone seemed to be jotting down notes. I idly wondered if I should too? Nah, stuff that. That's what brains were for. If only I could be bothered to focus that is.

kgzhsad_20180725140915851_20180725151820229_20180801225152840.jpg

source

My workplace had panicked recently when they realised that they played fast and loose with customers data and could now get fined 10 million euros for doing so.

As a result, we had all got papped off onto a GDPR course to find out how best to preserve the customer's data integrity and not run around throwing it everywhere as we had previously been doing.

Somehow I made it to the last slide in the woman's deck without falling asleep.

Would everyone like to take a comfort break and be back in perhaps twenty minutes?

She trilled like an unhinged budgie.

We all nodded like Pavlov's puppies and filed out.

kgzhsad_20180725140915851_20180725151820229_20180801225330764.jpg

source

There was a small breakout room with a coffee machine. I instantly ran to it and hugged it, desperate for it's thick and dark bitter contents.

Only about four people had made it through into the breakout room.

Where did everyone go?

I remarked.

A mad woman with the foamy flanks and eyes of a horse that had been ridden too hard tossed her head sidewards at me.

All out smoking eh! Filthy, filthy so and so's that they are.

Oh.

kgzhsad_20180725140915851_20180725151820229_20180801225444478.jpg

source

I sighed inwardly. Smoking. I bet they were having a blast. In here no-one was speaking. I looked at my desperate companions to see if anyone looked up for some banter and chat.

Mad-frothing-horse-woman was a no-no.

Beside her was a mousy grey man stirring his tea and counting the number of revolutions the spoon made. Yikes no, just watching him stir his tea was making my hair go grey.

That left a younger couple of guys. One of them had mad hair as if he electrocuted himself every morning and the other had trousers which curiously, stopped halfway down his shins.

Phew, that presentation was a bit dry eh?

I said, with a knowing wink.

Short trousers looked at me as if I had asked to borrow a tin of beans from his Mother.

kgzhsad_20180725140915851_20180725151820229_20180801225612073.jpg

source

I find it rather interesting. I think that the security piece is the next big thing.

He intoned dolefully as if reading out the ingredients on a packet of noodles.

I looked for help at his wild-haired companion. He looked like a proper bloke, someone who knew how to tear things up.

GDPR though, I mean, who cares right?

I nudged him slightly.

Wild-Hair looked startled, as if I had just crawled up on a beach and laid hundreds of eggs.

Well I care!

He brayed, his once hidden front teeth now exposed like a donkey's as he opened his mouth to speak.

Really?

Yes really. It is important that we process data lawfully and transparently with a well-communicated purpose.

I shook my head and looked at the four of them. At that moment the smokers came in from outside, they were laughing and joking loudly. One of them was finishing telling a joke about the lecturer's clown shoes.

kgzhsad_20180725140915851_20180725151820229_20180801225813508.jpg

source

They all racked themselves up some coffees then headed back out for more smokery.

I felt a lump of envy in my throat.

At that moment, mad-frothing-horse-woman walked over.

So, what are we all doing for lunch, will we pop out somewhere?

Mousy grey man nodded, still stirring his tea. The pair in front of me also nodded enthusiastically. Which left me.

She gazed at me with her wild horsey eyes.

Well, are you in?

I looked at the three of them and my lip curled up in a sneer.

No thanks, I am going out to buy some cigarettes and join that lot out there.

------------------------------------

What about you? What lengths would you go to to avoid being trapped with people you cannot bear? Have you stooped to terrible lengths just to avoid someone??!

Tell us your best tales in the comments. I will be there to listen!

Authored by: @meesterboom

Click on the coin to join our Discord Chat



Go Adsactly

Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!
Witness proposal is here:


Witness Proposal
Witness Proposal Update


Go To Steem Witness Page
In the bottom of the page type: adsactly-witness and press vote.
witness vote.gif
Use small letters and no "@" sign. Or, click here to vote directly!
Thank you!


Sort:  

What happens? How long would you arrive to avoid being trapped with people you can not stand? Have you leaned too far to avoid someone?

Keep it unbearable, you do not have to put up with it! God has called us to that, eye, is my personal opinion, many times we find ourselves with unbearable situations in our lives, having to share with some unpleasant people that is almost unbearable, but as I said before, (God told us we love his Progino like you, no matter how it is) It is difficult to keep things, faces, gestures and attitudes of strangers, but often we must go crazy, to avoid falling into arguments, I think we should simply ignore what we do not like. and turn around and go. those places, bless and say goodbye.
Do not let anything steal your peace, you have control of your life to make decisions, and a good decision is to ignore what you do not like.

I think so yes :0)

Phew, that presentation was a bit dry eh?

I think I know exactly what they meant 😉! Do I?

Interesting story about your coworkers and women with her wild horsey eyes hitting on you. Reminds me one time, when I worked in the apartment in NYC as a carpenter. She lived there and was hitting on me every single day. Imagine, I’m in my 30’s, she at her 65-70’s. It escalated to the point when she kept telling me... 😱. I call it the perfect job, because it was done in fastest time ever. At the end I got nice tip from her.

We all nodded like Pavlov's puppies and filed out

Isn't this the condition of all people who are bored out of their minds in the corporate world. I was actually wondering how the mad-frothing-horse-woman was able to keep her energy levels up, even as she put everybody else to sleep :-)

PS: I actually once jumped from the first floor of a building to escape a lecture that had the potential of putting a caffeine laden elephant to sleep. Thankfully the escape was successful :-)

Hello @ adsactly this is the fantastic article. so i,m to read your article. please provide me full information GDPR training workplace @ adsactly

@adsactly hello It's great to read your post. I do not miss any one of your post. Because you can learn a lot in every post. I always wait for your post

It is normal from my point of view. All at some time we have avoided someone. I remember once I avoided someone in a supermarket and when leaving the site I found him on the bus returning home ... :(

Damn I hate that!

This is really a beautiful story.. I read this story..This story is really interesting and enjoyable..
Thanks for sharing this interesting post..

Wow!!This is the great interested life story,Sir @adsactly..

This writting funny life story gives us much pleasure..
I am also very happy to this interested post,, without a dout you are a creative person,,I always follow you and I always causes pleasure to visit your blog..

Thank you @Sir adsactly sharing this valuable post..

Fantastic,, funny life story dear,,@adsactly..
This writting life story is really enjoyable..
I follow you .. because your outstanding creativity..I think your post is lot of better..
I have many like in your post.. cause,I can learn a lot from your post..
Hope you'll get a good post like this..
Best of luck..Dear @adsactly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61672.72
ETH 2996.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78