You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ask the Car Guy @socky Mar 8, 2019

in #fun5 years ago

Hey friend, I have a car issue that I was hoping you could help me out with. I bought a 2000 Subaru Legacy recently and my check light came on the other day, I tried to check it with my OBDII reader but it keeps saying no link? My OBD reader says its good for cars as old as 96'. I don't really want to take it in and pay for a mechanic for a check engine light that will most likely end up being nothing. Any suggestions?

Sort:  

I would bet that the OBD connector is missing the 12V power. Probably a fuse. The manual might not show which fuse is responsible for the power of the OBD connector. Check all your fuses. If that doesn't fix it, then I would find a multi meter and get a wiring diagram for the OBD connector and start checking for a bad wire. Most likely it is just missing the 12V power.

Good luck.

Awesome, thanks for the advice. I will check that out and let u know if that fixed it or not.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62422.21
ETH 3177.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78