Traffic making you miss the HEAT

in #funny6 years ago

Down here in Phoenix, we have the great migration of Snow birds. Every year at about October to November, we get a influx of about 1 million people. The restaurants here are just waiting for these snow birds to pack their tables, and eat their food. They come from all over, Minnesota, Canada, North Dakota, and from just about everywhere there is snow. Not saying old people can't drive, but they pack the streets, and are usually not in a hurry to get anywhere. You find yourself avoiding stores that boarder the retirement communities to avoid the lines, and you are just waiting for National Geographic to do a story on The Great Migration.

13ca2fc20dfd2c55.jpg

But that doesn't account for all the traffic. We also have a huge influx for spring training. During this time, I try to avoid restaurant areas, as the waits get long. Also you can add 15 minutes to your morning commute, and plan to sit in traffic at all times. But then suddenly something happens, Opening day , and the first 100 degree day. Just like that the migrating birds pack their bags, and are on their way back north. Not to say I don't enjoy the process, but I am ready to see them go this year.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

You are too nice in your words. lol Every year our roads up here get a little bit easier when all our Snowbirds head there and to Florida. lol Your meme says it all. How many times have we got stuck behind that guy? We talk about the snowbirds all the time here. My old neighbours became snowbirds a few years ago. I love that you mention when they leave. Don't like it too hot or too cold.

Ya, that is the life, I just hope I will be there someday. I guess I have never lived the Migration life. Some restaurants here literally shut down when the leave.

I had the same problem growing up in FL. But, now that I am older I will say this. "We mock the things we are to be" . I am now slowly turning into one of them and you will too lol. Just wait, there is no escape .

O I know we will all be one someday, Lord willing. But I am ready for the ghost town.

It's seems like it's a process that repeat itself every year. the birds and the old men and the restaurant being jammed packet hahsha, I really would love to see, I can't imagine.

You do like it, don't you?

No, It is fine, just when spring training is here too. Lots of traffic. 15 min longer to go anywhere.

Hshahaha well I guess it's a tide that you gotta make do with

Ha ha, I hadn't heard it called that. The name probably fits very well, but it's still really funny. I know some people who pack up and move to their Arizona house every fall. They should be going to their summer house soon. Enjoy the easier commutes. :)

Ya, you can sit on the highway and watch the migration actually happen, it is crazy.

@bigram13 I know what you mean I have lived here for 20 years. I still would not go back to California where I grew UP.............

I thought California succeeded from the Union? I remember when they were boycotting Arizona stuff, and then a official was like, " Okay we will quite sending you power." Then people realized that Arizona supplied all the power for San Diego down, and they were like Na we were just joking. A holes

@bigram13 I really loved growing UP on the Ocean Front back in the 60's and 70's in California. Those days are Long Gone unless they Magically put all of their politicians in Jail and start over again................

it will aware people to abide by the traffic rules
like me.......... 👍

Lols, Cant stop laughing, i do watch this in movie, leave them alone they are enjoying their own session.. Lol. I imagined how i will get pissed off if am going for an interview that day. Wish like seeing them with my own eyes.

steady 👍👍 i like @bigram13

Very good a post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69046.82
ETH 3769.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68